Skip to main content

Unforgiven by Lauren Kate- 5/5 stars

I cannot believe the Fallen series by Lauren Kate is 8 years old already. Has it really been that long since the first book come out? Goodness... it makes me fell old 👵
I dedicated my very first blog post to this series as it was the series that got me into reading ya fantasy/supernatural, but I haven't yet read Cam's story. Between book box subscriptions, new releases, arcs, etc Cam's story (that is now two years old) was kept unread. Well, this week I finally got to it!

It isn't really the 5th book in the series, it is a stand alone book on Cam. I knew that before going in, so it wasn't a surprise. It is set many may years after the Fallen series, Daniel and Luce are long gone...

The story is mostly set in the present. Cam finds out that the love of his life is in Hell and he bargains with the Devil to set her free. Every now and then there are glimpses to the past, to when they met, fell in love, and Cam broke her heart. 

The Fallen series is rather cheesy and preteen ish, I was surprised with Unforgiven. It was a somewhat more mature work by Lauren Kate. I would wager it has something to do with  Cam's character being darker than Daniel's and Luce's ever were, giving the author more freedom to write a darker and tad more mature story. It was no doubt a fast read and my favorite book in the series. I have always loved Cam and it was nice to get a book focused solely on him.




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation