Skip to main content

Wicked like a wildfire by Lana Popovic - 2.5/5 stars

Wicked like a wildfire revolves around twin sisters Iris and Lina, brought up by their single mother.
They have magic, or 'gleam' as they call it for the most part. All the woman in their bloodline can manipulate beauty.
Their mother makes them hide theirs because of a curse. But one day she is struck down and the girls must now go and find out the truth and a way to bring their mother back.

I am going to be honest and say that even when I read the blurb I was already thinking it sounded far to generic. Change the 'gleam' for a different sort of power, twin sisters to just sisters or friends, and there is a long list of books that follow that exact same story.
That in itself is not bad, 'common stories' are popular because they work. People like them. I like them...

Wicked like a wildfire is one of those books that is, as the saying goes, 'neither here nor there' for me. It was nice, but there was nothing special about it. 
The main characters were sweet and entertaining enough. The girl's heritage was a nice touch, but nothing was enough to make the book stand out. 

There were a few plot twists. The first ones were predictable and deserved all the 'eye rolls' that happened while I was reading it, some of the later ones were a little better. The ending itself however was predictable. 

The world building and setting was also a hit or miss. The folklore was really interesting, as was the Montenegro setting. But the places they go towards the end are a big blank in my mind.

I felt the pace of the book was slow...but I finished it in two days...
So you see... all in all the vibe throughout the book on all aspects is the same: Inconsequential. Average. 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.