Skip to main content

Wicked like a wildfire by Lana Popovic - 2.5/5 stars

Wicked like a wildfire revolves around twin sisters Iris and Lina, brought up by their single mother.
They have magic, or 'gleam' as they call it for the most part. All the woman in their bloodline can manipulate beauty.
Their mother makes them hide theirs because of a curse. But one day she is struck down and the girls must now go and find out the truth and a way to bring their mother back.

I am going to be honest and say that even when I read the blurb I was already thinking it sounded far to generic. Change the 'gleam' for a different sort of power, twin sisters to just sisters or friends, and there is a long list of books that follow that exact same story.
That in itself is not bad, 'common stories' are popular because they work. People like them. I like them...

Wicked like a wildfire is one of those books that is, as the saying goes, 'neither here nor there' for me. It was nice, but there was nothing special about it. 
The main characters were sweet and entertaining enough. The girl's heritage was a nice touch, but nothing was enough to make the book stand out. 

There were a few plot twists. The first ones were predictable and deserved all the 'eye rolls' that happened while I was reading it, some of the later ones were a little better. The ending itself however was predictable. 

The world building and setting was also a hit or miss. The folklore was really interesting, as was the Montenegro setting. But the places they go towards the end are a big blank in my mind.

I felt the pace of the book was slow...but I finished it in two days...
So you see... all in all the vibe throughout the book on all aspects is the same: Inconsequential. Average. 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b