Skip to main content

Sublime by Christina Lauren- 3.8/5

Sublime started off really well. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept.
It is a story a troubled boy and a strange girl that is not really a girl. They understand each other perfectly and become obsessed with each other. The book explores the lengths the boy is willing to go to be with the girl he loves.
The Blurb: Sublime

I was captivated by Lucy's story and very much looking forward to figuring out how and why she was back from the dead.
Her connection with Collin was intriguing. We don't find out until much later in the book how and when their connection was formed and I thought it was rather clever. Yes, there is a certain amount of 'insta-love' but that is one of Christina Lauren's trade mark, I don't mind it. I actually find they write those really well. 

I believe the book was all in all very clever. It is a tad morbid once you start realizing exactly what their connection means and it got my heart racing a little faster. But that makes the whole thing more interesting. 

As per usual with Christina Lauren the writing style was phenomenal. Everything is well described, there is both a magical and an eerie feeling to the setting of the story. And although all is really well described, at no point does it becomes overbearing as is the case with so many books.

My issue with Sublime is with its ending. It felt rushed. I suspected it would end the way it did but it needed to be developed further, it needed more details.  I went back to the book now to make sure I am giving you guys an accurate description---> the book ending is written on the last page, front and back. That's it. When I finished reading it I turned the page expecting it to continue... It made very little sense and left me rather confused. It was far to abrupt and created more questions instead of giving closure. 
I get what they were trying to do, the feelings they were trying to evoke... but I guess it just didn't work for me. And after reading a few other reviews, that sadly seems to be the overall feeling...

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation