Skip to main content

LifeLike by Kay Kristoff- 2 stars [arc review]


Sorry guys, I know you are all waiting for this book and hoping it is yet another masterpiece by the amazing Jay Kritoff but sadly I cannot tell you that I enjoyed this book all that much. It was ok, but nowhere near as amazing as everything else he has written. There is NO comparison. 


For the blurb go here.

Here is what I liked: the last page! That was a very good ending and it has the potential of making a fantastic second book. I will read the next book because of that last page alone.

The rest was either just ok or on the verge of being the most boring book I have read this year.
The first half was really slow, to the point I had to convince myself not to dfn it because it was a Kristoff book. I was tempted... so very tempted.

At that point it got a lot better. The story picked up and got more interesting. The problem than became predictability. The story of cyborgs turning against their human creators and of a human falling in  love with a cyborg is over used.  Why so many scifi books follow that story line? *eye roll* It was easy to see every plot twist ahead of time (if you can even call most of them that). The only surprising thing was that last page. 

I am a romance reader (as most of you know) as well as an ya reader, and so, when the romance sucks I get very frustrated. The romance here was odd rather than heart warming. I can handle insta love, but this was just weird. There was no real connection between the characters or enough character development to make it believable. 

There is also a language issue. OMG I wanted to scream at all the weird and unnecessary fabricated slang and jargon. I grew tired of it all fast.

I felt like the book was written to a very young young adult audience. 
Do I recommend it? maybe if you don't usually read scifi, so at least it will not feel like you have read it a million times before.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b