Skip to main content

One True Love by Linda Kage- 4 Stars [arc review]

One True Love, Linda Kage
I am a huge fan of Linda Kage and was super excited to read this. One True Love is Linda's first attempt at fantasy romance and she did a brilliant job! The book was sweet, romantic, beautiful, touching... all the wonderful things I have come to expect from Linda Kage with of-course a touch of fantasy. 

The Blurb:

Custom demanded that Prince Urban get a love mark tattooed to the side of his left eye as an infant, just like the rest of his people, but to him, the stupid things have only brought on the scorn of his father, the misery of his siblings, and caused his entire kingdom to go broke from fighting so many wars over the irritating ink stains.


When Urban’s sister must travel to Donnelly, the kingdom within the sand, for her arranged marriage to align two realms, he goes with her. But he no sooner steps foot inside their castle than his mark starts itching like a son of a bitch, telling him his one true love is near.

It just figures, though, that the woman meant for him is completely forbidden. Now he must decide if he should ignore the persistent mark, telling him she's the one, in order to avoid a possible war between kingdoms, or if he should discover whether she's worth risking everything for so they can be together. Either way, his life gets sucked into chaos with threats of beheadings, dark magic lurking, castle traitors scheming, and sword fights eminent.

Who knew one little tattoo could cause so much trouble?


Prince Urban was fantastic! *swoon*
The way Urban reacts at finding out who his true love is and the way he acts afterwards will have your heart melting. He is one of the most loyal and caring characters I've read in a while. 
Vienne turned out to be a very strong, clever and reliable woman. The more you read about her the easier it is to love her as well as Urban.
The chemistry and passion between the two was perfect. They are two very different people that fit and complement each other perfectly.

I also loved the side characters, they will make fantastic main characters on the books to come. I particularly loved that there was more than just one romance story happening at the same time and that both ended beautifully. I won't tell you who I am referring too though... Go Read! 😊

All in all it was yet another fantastic work by Linda Kage!

But, after all this praise you are probably wondering why not 5 stars...
Well, I have a few deal breakers when reading a book. One of them is cheating. I can handle love triangles so long as there is no cheating. After about 20% into the book I was petrified I was going to hate it, but since I love Linda Kage I kept on going. I am VERY HAPPY I did. It was a great story and the forbidden love between Urban and Vienne was treated with great care. There was some level of cheating, so I cannot in good conscience give it 5 stars, but it was acceptable and even understandable. 

Go read guys! Linda is AMAZING! 

Release date: June 6th
Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - itunes - Linda Kage - GoodReads

Comments

  1. Cosmic Film Festival in Orlando Florida "Celebrating Women in Film & Innovative Filmmakers from Around the World.Film Festival

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.