Skip to main content

Waking to Black by V.H. Luis (Uninhibited Book 1) - 3 Stars [arc review]

Who here likes discovering new authors? It has got to be one of the reasons I enjoy NetGalley for romance reads, I have found a few good books there that I would perhaps not have read otherwise.
The blurb:
He shattered my defenses, and I was fragile to begin with…

The first time I saw Adam Black, I was between the arms of a criminal, a gun to my throat and even then, I knew I was staring at the most dangerous man in the room.

Maybe it was his confident, cerulean eyes, or the sex appeal radiating from his pores like heat waves on a scorching day, but by proximity alone he made my vision blur and my heart stammer.

The day I was nearly killed in a bank hold-up, I began to live—because of him.

Now, I’m praying for the first time in years, hoping the scars of my past, the secrets I keep, don’t interfere with my future…

I have so many conflicted emotions! 
I enjoyed the book and I could not find it in me to put it down (to the point I forgot my oven on 🙈). But... Adam oh Adam... he was both the sweetest and the biggest a**hole of all time and I just couldn't and can't get over how much of a hypocritical idiot he was all the way to the end. 

Evelyn was impossible to understand at first, her emotions and actions were all over the place. Luckily as the story progresses you start to understand her better and the story therefore becomes a lot more enjoyable. Her actions starts to make sense and you learn to love her and to feel for her.

Adam was a jerk. And not a jerk you can learn to love, just a jerk. He was rude, unforgiving, demanding, arrogant beyond belief, and often detached and emotionless. All those things (if we ever find out his past, which hopefully we will in the next book) would -perhaps- be forgiving. But his double standards and hypocrisy are not. He demands honesty and openness from Evelyn at all times without ever giving her the same courtesy. And when she points it out to him he is a total ass about it. He has his sweet moments and it is obvious he cares for her, but he needs to put his self-righteous attitude aside a little.

Evelyn's story deals with depression and suicide, so the book is not for everyone. I found it treated those heavy subjects well and respectfully though so I see no reason to stay away from reading it.
All in all it was a good book. Had a good intriguing story that kept you wanting more. I just wished I had liked the main male character more.

Release date: May 2nd
Find the book at: Amazon and GoodReads 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b