Skip to main content

Opposites Attract series by Rachel Higginson - 5 Stars


I had the opportunity to meet this amazing human being at an author even this June and I got the first book in the series while there. It sounded way to good to be  left behind and it did not disappoint. I sat on my couch and read for 6 hours straight all the while either smiling or laughing. It was fabulous! More so, the books that followed were just as good.


Opposites Attract series by Rachel Higginson

The Opposite of You- 5 Stars
Aaaahh... this was so good. As I said, I smiled from beginning to end. It was beautifully written and had intense charismatic characters that were impossible not to love. 
Let's get the important part out of the way first: you will be hungry. Have a snack in hand! LOL
Vera, after a turbulent past in the industry and some travelling in Europe comes back home to help her dad who had cancer and she opens up a food truck at her brother's shop parking lot. She was a conundrum. Head strong and brave but also very hurt by the past and in many ways weak. And that was so beautiful. It made her character feel more human. After all, even the most strong of us have their weak moments. 
Killian is the prestigious head chef at the restaurant across the road from the food truck. He makes his mission to comment on every plate of food Vera does and rarely his comments are nice or welcomed. Killian was a broody, strict chef and it doesn't take us long to realize he also has a heart of gold.
Their romance was a slow burn. Written beautifully. Those two chefs became friends, learn to trust each other, flirted, and eventually found love!
The secondary characters were all just amazing and I am super happy that the next books involve my favorites. 
Go Read!
For the book blurb: Go here

The Difference Between Us- 4 Stars
This book surprised me. I wasn't expecting to love Ezra as much as I did, in the end he didn't only have Molly's heart, he had mine too. 
Molly's main focus in life at the moment is her job. She just got a big account to work with and she is trying her best to succeed. She is also throwing our lovely Vera and Killian their engagement party with the help of Ezra and Wyatt. Ezra seems to want to help or control everything and that makes her blood boil! -in more ways than one-
“Ezra Baptiste was one of the most intolerable men I had ever met. Arrogant, condescending, offensively good looking, he had all the qualities of a human I tried to avoid”. 
Ezra was a sweet surprise. There is so  much more to him than we know from the previous book. 
He wants to revamp his business and Molly is good at what she does. So when she refuses to work with him he goes to her company and gets her boss to give Molly his account. 
At first, it is easy to see Ezra as a closed off and arrogant man, but the more you get to know him the more you fall for him. Just like Molly did...
Their relationship slowly built into something more, into something neither of them could avoid. And when he finally tells her how along and how he has been pursuing her without her ever noticing you will laugh. It was a sweet read! 
For the book blurb: Go here


The Problem with Him- 4 Stars
Another book bound to make you hungry! LOL
I LOVED Wyatt in The Opposite of You. I was captivated by him on his few appearances so I was super happy that he got his own love story.
Wyatt is a tough chef, you have to be to go far in the industry. But he is also tough because he had a difficult upbringing and it is his goal in life to make a name for himself. When he gets the chance to run a kitchen he grabs it and makes the most of it. It has is costs, luck of sleep being one, and hatred from the sous chef that wanted his job being another...
The sous chef in question is Kaya. She is tough, opinionated, and very sure of herself. Except when it comes to Wyatt. She wanted his job, she wants to run a kitchen herself and the two of them are always bickering. And on that note, while they bicker and she controls the desire to strangle him she also has to control other desires that have to do with him...
I enjoyed the way their chemistry was portrait and how it grew into something else.
This was another fabulous book. It was not as charismatic and enthralling as The Opposite of You but I loved it too!! 4 very solid stars.
For the book blurb: Go here



For those who don't know, I was a chef for 13 years and have only been out of the industry for the last 2. Reading this brought back so many wonderful memories too. I could not recommend this series enough! They are not just great romance books, they are also written by an amazing beautiful writer. Have you seen her? The woman is gorgeous (that just needed to be said 😊)

Go read Sunnies!

Find the books at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.