Skip to main content

War Storm by Victoria Aveyard - 2 Stars (Red Queen #4)

Holly Mother of Pearl... this was LONG! This book is a beast, my wrists hurt from holding this massive thing. 
There were a few good things about it but sadly the book felt short, specially the ending. I loved The Red Queen and King's Cage , but Glass Sword and War Storm let the series down big time.

The Story picks up where it left off. Mare and Cal are at odds, she chose her cause and Cal chose the crown. Neither is willing to change for the other. There is an alliance between Reds and the Crown but it is only temporary, while Maven still the enemy to both of them. Cal and Mare know that, they know soon there will come a time they will be enemies again.

There was one saving grace in War Storm and that was Evangeline. Her character grew a lot in the last book and continued to be an interesting addition here. She is clever and the only character to in the end have her priorities in order. While most characters are running around acting like idiots this princess is being logical, straightforward, clever, and most importantly honest with herself (something the other characters really needed to be). She is the sole reason I kept on reading once I realized Maven would be forgotten. 

This book has almost 700 pages and yet it can be told in half that amount, and that is my first problem with it. You would expect, since there is war in all fronts an action packed book but it is not. Most of it is spent inside Mare's head. Mare did grow on me in King's Cage... and now she lost all my respect again. She was a total brat for the most part. There was also far too much 'want you but wont touch you' going on. In how may ways and how many times does the author need to tell us they love each other but picked cause and crown instead of love? It got real boring. 

The second thing that annoyed me -and a lot- is that we don't get to see a lot of Maven. There is less than a handful of chapters on him. Maven is the most in-depth and complex character in the whole series and I needed a lot more of him to enjoy this. There is also his ending... although I believe it should end as it did for him, it could have been better written. She built a lot of climax to that scene and than it was just over, it was rushed and boring. I also wanted more of a glimpse at whom he used to be and I think the whole fandom deserved that. 

Cal... spineless pathetic Cal. He is another character that earned some respect from me in King's Cage and than lost all of it in War Storm. If Maven haven't had his mother mess him up these two brothers would be exactly the same because they both want the crown above all else and anyone else. Although I hated Cal chose the crown over Mare I respected him for it, he thought he was doing the right thing. But the way he proceeded to act afterwards was ridiculous. He wanted the best of both worlds and was pinning and winning the whole time. Give me break and stand by your choices for crying out loud. 

And last but not least the actual ending... that was terrible. I enjoy open endings, I think it makes it all more realistic, but this was just bad. It made Mare come across as a childish little girl. She finally gets all she wants and .... grgrgrgr (sorry, I wont give you guys spoilers. Message me if you want to know more). 

All in all this was not a terrible series, but it was not good either. There were many flaws and I could be a lot more forgiving on them if the books were shorter. Prolonging a plot that has that many flaws makes it all a lot worse. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b