Skip to main content

Bennett Mafia by Tijan [arc review]

WOW!
This was sooooooooo good
The wait is finally over. Tijan has finally written another Mafia Romance: the sub-genre that made me fall in love with her books in the first place.
It was nothing like the Carter Reed books or Cole but it was just as amazing. 
I'm thrilled. I'm ecstatic. I'm happy. I'm satisfied.
PlEaSe WrItE more Mafia Romance :)

Bennett Mafia, Tijan
Blurb:
There were always whispers about my roommate at Hillcrest Academy.

The wealthiest of the wealthy sent their kids to our boarding school, and Brooke Bennett had been at the top, though I never quite knew why. She was fun and outgoing, but she kept quiet about her family. The only things she showed me were photographs of her brothers.

I became fascinated with her second-oldest brother. Kai Bennett.

He was the most of them all. Smoldering. Hypnotic. Alluring.
Kai had eyes that pulled me in and a face that haunted my dreams.

Then I met him.

He came to our school with their father, and that’s when I learned what kind of family Brooke came from. They were mafia, and Brooke’s oldest brother was dead. Her father said accident, but Brooke said murder.

Three months later, her father died, and Kai became the head of the Bennett Family. Brooke left Hillcrest for good, and that was the last time I saw her.

Fourteen years later, I’m staring at her face on the television. Brooke is missing.

Two days later, Kai Bennett kidnaps me.
 


Book review: 5+ Stars

I confess that when I first read the blurb I was concerned. As much as I love Tijan, high-school drama is not for me. I was very happy that the book didn't focus much on when they were young and it was  a full on Mafia Romance. The scenes at the Academy were minimal. 

With that out of the way lets talk about the Bennetts. What a family! They have been through a lot but stuck together, with Kai at front and center holding the fort. I personally believe all of the brothers at least deserve their own book. 
Kai was the perfect Mafia boss. Dark, broody, enigmatic, all alpha. And as most of you know, those are traits are very much like on my male book characters. 
I was intrigued by him when he was first mentioned and full on in love with him soon after he kidnapped Riley. It was so obvious that he loved his sister and his family. 
There are layers to him, layers that took time to be peeled off and understood. Even towards the end when he does the dumbest thing ever you can't help but feel bad for him. He had his reasons, and although I didn't like it, they were good reasons. 

Riley was a difficult character to figure out. She is vulnerable and often loses grip of her emotions. But she is also very brave and very strong. It was at times as if I were reading about two completely different characters. That could have been annoying but I personally loved it. She was a complex character with a very strong and set moral compass that slowly discovers not all things in life can be black and white. There is more to Kai and there is more to the organization she works for too. 

They were both mature characters fighting their own demons. The chemistry between them built up nicely and although it was a Mafia Romance it also had some good humor. 
All in all a fabulous book and I am so so so very happy to have received an arc for it. Here is hoping there is more- Dr Bennett needs his own story! 

Side note: don't like the guy on the cover. Kai looks a lot more intimidating in my head! 🤣🤣🤣

Expected publication: March 4th 2019
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation