Skip to main content

Sweet Victory (Fighting for Love #4) by Gina L. Maxwell

The Year is 2019 and this is read number 17! 
I know you didn't ask, but I am telling you anyway. I feel like sharing 🤣

Sweet Victory was GREAT! I am struggling to decide if I like this one better than the first book or not - Seducing Cinderella - Decisions decisions... let's see if writing a review helps me decide hey?
Here is the Blurb:
Sophie Caldwell might not like asking for help, but help is what she needs if she’s going to save her family business from her uncle. Her grandma left one rule for Sophie if she wants to gain sole ownership before she’s thirty—get married. Yeah, fat chance of that happening since she hasn’t had a boyfriend in years, and now she can’t get her uncle off her ass.

British-born MMA fighter Xander James has never lost a fight, and he’s not about to start now. He’s on the brink of a comeback that could make him a UFC champion, but his landlord wants to take away his last chance by shutting down his gym. Hell, no. Fortunately, his landlord’s niece has a problem of her own. Time for a proposal she can’t refuse.

The review: 5 Stars


So... Xander... If perfection had a male name... hehe
I am not usually into the good boys on books and yet this whole series is full of them and I can't get enough. What is up with that Gina? Xander has a heart of gold, no one in their sane mind does what he did for Sophie just because of attraction. I loved his swagger and fun personality as well as his hard working ethic and big heart. And of-course, being sex on a stick helps...

Sophie was a force to be reckoned with. I am half in love with her myself. She works hard, has a sharp mind, and a feisty personality to go with it; she is absolutely perfect for Xander. 
They may have come together in rather unusual circumstances and I confess I wasn't sure to start I was going to like that but Gina made it work. As they get to know each other and the heat between them turns into more you will fall for them too. 

I think my favorite scene was when our boys gave Xander words of advise. It was nice seeing them happy but also recognize where things could have gone wrong for them. Even nicer was to see Xander taking in their words and not just ignoring it. I think he was the most mature of all the boys. 

All in all another fabulous book by Gina, but I think I will still choose Seducing Cinderella over this one just because I liked clumsy shy Lucie a little better than our feisty Sophie. That being said I feel bad doing that because I did love Sophie... aaaahahhhh *screams in despair* 

Anyways... GO READ sunnies! 

Find the series at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation