Skip to main content

Bloodleaf (Bloodleaf #1) by Crystal Smith [arc review]

@glimpses_of_my_books
Do you ever go into a book completely blind? I almost never do that these days, specially when it comes to Young Adult books. But... blind into it I went. I read the blurb after I had started the book and I have no regrets. Outside of romance YA Fantasy is a favorite genre of mine and I would have picked this one out regardless.

The Blurb:
Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?


3.5 Stars

This magical story had a nice flow to it. The first few chapters were captivating and it was hard to put the book down. Princess Aurelia is the heir to the throne but she gets ousted from her own country for possessing magic. In Renalt, people like her receive the death sentence. 
She goes to the Kingdom of  Achleva were she is meant to marry their sickly prince. None of it goes according to plan, an attempt in her life has her on the run.

Aurelia was a good female heroine. Not the cleverest tool in the box but brave and determined. 
Zan was a charming main male character. I think he was meant to be a heartthrob? I just found find sweet and adorable.
Nathaniel -his best friend- had me almost in tears. In many ways his character stole the show for me.
All other characters were good but not interesting enough to be mentioned.

Bloodleaf was a very easy to read fantasy, but not much of it was properly explained. That is not really a problem since this is only the first book in the series, but it is something the reader should keep in mind. 

The true negative to me was predictability. It was easy to see where the story was going. It follows tropes and themes that have become very popular in YA in recent years- powerful and yet clueless (and let's not forget plain looking) female heroine, male villain, two love interests that would give their lives for her, and a problem only the female character can fix. All those things on their own aren't bad, but when it makes the story predictable it is rather boring. There was at least one instance where the plot was so so obvious I wanted to scream at the book.

All that being said though it was great YA Fantasy. I have never heard of this author and I think this is a debut novel, which makes the book as a whole a lot more impressive. As a debut novel that was phenomenal. 

Release Date: March 12th, 2019 by HMH Books for Young Readers 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation