Skip to main content

When a Duchess Says I Do (Rogues to Riches #2) by Grace Burrowes [arc review]

4.5 Stars :)

Best selling author Grace Burrowes has once again delivered a phenomenal historical romance. When a Duchess Says I Do was -as the fabulous author Mary Balogh put it- "Smart, sexy, and oh-so romantic".

Duncan Wentworth tried to help a damsel in distress once and things did not go well, he promised not to do so again. 

Matilda is clever, sweet, and very capable of taking care of herself. But she is in trouble and in need of a 'knight in shinning armor'. She is running away from problems that could destroyed her life and those who discover her secrets. 

When their paths cross Duncan can't resist it. His good and honorable heart takes over. He has to help her.

I absolutely loved their friendship and courtship. Duncan and Matilda were perfect for each other. Duncan's never ending patience and faith on Matilda is praiseworthy and made their slow burn romance all the more touching. It was absolutely adorable how they talked to each other in chess metaphors. Oh-so very geeky... but oh-so very sweet too.

Although this is book two in the Rogues to Riches series it works perfectly as a stand alone. I do encourage you to read My One and Only Duke first though. Towards the end of the book we get a really heartfelt scene between Quinn (book #1) and Duncan and it will be a whole lot more special to you if you've read both books.

All in all if you enjoy Historical Romance this Regency Romance by Grace Burrowes will certainly work for you. It has an interesting background story with just enough suspense and intrigue, fabulously clever main characters, and secondary characters that you will either fall in love with or already have on the previous book and will enjoy seeing again.

Go Read!

Release Date: April 2nd 2019 by Forever
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.