Skip to main content

Hard Loving Cowboy (Crossroads Ranch #3) by A.J. Pine [arc review]

Hard Loving Cowboy was a wonderful heartfelt story about facing your demons and finding your way. It was emotional, touching, and most importantly: so very romantic! 
The blurb:
Walker Everett spends his days at the Crossroads Ranch wrangling cattle-and steering clear of anything that would complicate his already too-complicated life. Until Violet Chastain, the ranch's newest employee, asks him to pretend to be her boyfriend for her parents' anniversary party. She's the most beautiful woman he's ever met and needs his help. How can he refuse?

Violet isn't about to fall for a brooding bad-boy cowboy, no matter how sizzling their chemistry. But she also never expected Walker to go along with the charade. Before long, he's charming her parents at their weekly dinners and kissing her way more than necessary. Spending so much time together tests the limits of their "just friends" relationship, but what happens when their game of pretend becomes all too real?


5 Glorious Stars

This is the 3rd book in the Crossroads Ranch series, but it can easily be read as a stand alone. I would know it since I started the series with this one :) 

Walker and Violet both have a lot going on in their lives. Walker is living one day at the time, trying to stay sober and trying to figure who he is without his companion of so many years- alcohol. Violet is juggling multiple jobs so that she can have enough money to help her mother receive the medical treatment she needs. 
The way they meet is unconventional but it helps them both in different ways. Violet can be honest with someone about her struggles and Walker finds someone that doesn't look at him through the lenses of his past.

The chemistry between them was undeniable. But more important than that they made each other better people, more confident and stronger. Neither character shies away from the reality of their situation and they accepted the relationship they have for what it was- they are falling for each other but they also needed to figure who they were apart from one another. 

My favorite thing about Hard Loving Cowboy was how AJ Pine managed to make the characters feel so real. I felt Walker struggles as if they were my own and it was wonderful that she also wrote what his decisions in life did to his family, how much it hurt them, and how much besides it all they still love him. 

This was a great book and a great series. I really can't recommend it enough.

Release Date: March 26th, 2019 by Forever Pub. 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.