Skip to main content

Text Me Baby One More Time (Text #4) by Teagan Hunter

I have finally caught up with the Text series! It has been a wonderful ride and at least one of the books in the series is likely to make into my end of the year list of favorites.


Blurb:
A second-chance romcom.

I love you, he said.
Forever, he said.
Turns out, he lied.

When he leaves me high and dry after a cross-country move, I push him out of my life as much as I can, which is hard to do when the guy who broke your heart also happens to be the most famous dude in town.

After a disastrous year, he’s aiming to rehab his reputation, and I just so happen to be aiming for a promotion at the paper.

So, we strike a deal, and it’s a win-win all around.

Besides, what’s the harm in a few dates to charity galas anyway?

He’s arrogant, a total jerk. There’s no way I’ll fall for him…again.

I used to love him. Now I hate him…I think.
 


3 Stars

After much deliberating I decided that Text me Baby One More Time will get a 3 star rating. What that means is that although I loved the book it wasn't perfect. 

Let's start by talking about Shep... We know he can be an ass from what he did to his brother in a previous book. That being said, don't go into this book expecting a horrible character. Teagan Hunter (at least as far as this series is concerned) only writes nice boys, and Shep is no different. There is a difference between being a horrible person and being an insecure and afraid person that does horrible things. Shep falls on the second category. He actually turned out to be a really nice guy that made really bad decisions. Some of his decisions are the reason I didn't love the book though, it was a little too childish and immature for me. I avoid high school romance novels for that reason and their story starts before college. Although Shep's decision is understandable when you consider how old he was  meant to be when he made it (we all made some dumb things at that age) it still annoyed me. I just can't handle that kind of romance. 

I don't really have much to say about Denver and I guess that says a lot already. She is kind of forgetful. I mean... she eats a lot and like pugs? What else is there? or at least that is how I felt. 
I should probably add I didn't care about her in the previous book too though. I was curious as to what made Shep the way he is but I really didn't care about her and that sentiment carried through. MOST readers actually like her and hate him. I just like bad boys too much I guess 🤣
The only outstanding quality about her to me was that she did not make excuses for Shep's idiocity. She made him face his mistakes and I admire that a lot.

The texting was again my favorite part. I think I said this on a previous review but I would fall in love with Teagan myself the way she texts :) She does an absolute brilliant job with those. The texting was no doubt my favorite thing in all 4 books in the series. 

Although this was my least favorite in the series that doesn't mean I didn't like it. A 3 star rating is still a good rating and I recommend you all to go and read this book and the series as a whole :)

Find the book at: GoodReads Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation