Skip to main content

Hot and Badgered (Honey Badger Chronicles #1) by Shelly Laurenston

Every now and than you get on the 'trend' train and regret it. This was one of those instances. For some reason a lot of people loved this book. I can't say I share the sentiment. It was not for me at all. As I often tell my friends on bookstagram: there is a book for everyone!

Blurb:
It’s not every day that a beautiful naked woman falls out of the sky and lands face-first on grizzly shifter Berg Dunn’s hotel balcony. Definitely they don’t usually hop up and demand his best gun. Berg gives the lady a grizzly-sized t-shirt and his cell phone, too, just on style points. And then she’s gone, taking his XXXL heart with her. By the time he figures out she’s a honey badger shifter, it’s too late.

Honey badgers are survivors. Brutal, vicious, ill-tempered survivors. Or maybe Charlie Taylor-MacKilligan is just pissed that her useless father is trying to get them all killed again, and won’t even tell her how. Protecting her little sisters has always been her job, and she’s not about to let some pesky giant grizzly protection specialist with a network of every shifter in Manhattan get in her way. Wait. He’s trying to help? Why would he want to do that? He’s cute enough that she just might let him tag along—that is, if he can keep up . . .
 

The review: 1 Star

I had many problems with this book, but the main one is simply that when I pick a paranormal romance to read I want ROMANCE! I was 75% into the book before anything remotely close to be called a romance happened and it was a pathetic kiss that cannot in any way shape or form be described as romantic. Hot and Badgered is a paranormal book, but not a paranormal romance. And well... I don't read paranormal or fantasy just 'cause. I like and need romance in it. 

The plot and main characters were crazy. I think all the crazy in the book is meant to be funny, but I really am struggling to see how anyone can find any of it entertaining. It was just crazy and immature and well... stupid. Now, don't get me wrong, the writing was actually ok otherwise I would not have manged to finish the book... but in the end it was overwhelming, confusing, way too weird, and with characters that are just impossible to relate. They had no substance. It was a lot of crazy for the sake of crazy. 
The more I read the more disappointed I got. 
You would think that as the book progressed things would start making sense as well but that was also not the case. The plot was very confusing.
And lets not forget that in addition to no romance there was no chemistry whatsoever between the supposed main characters. I say supposed because the crazy younger sister probably got more page time than the two main characters. 

Anyway... I will stop here, you get the gist of it. 
As I said, a lot of people liked it. So if you still wanna give it a go find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b