Skip to main content

The Revenge Plan by Linda Kage [arc review]

I fell in love with Linda Kage's writing when I was introduced to her work with Monster Among the Roses - It was AMAZING!
 I wanted to love this one too, but I neither loved it or hated it. Some parts were brilliant, others really annoyed me.
The Revenge Plan, Linda Kage
The blurb:
After I caught my boyfriend cheating, I tried to be mature about it with an amicable split. But he took his retaliation too far, and I have officially had enough. No more Miss Nice Haven.

No one is allowed to lie to me, betray, embarrass, and devastate me, fill me with self-doubt, or put my future at risk, and expect to get away with it. He is going to feel my wrath.

Enter Wick Webster, his archenemy.

Nothing would provoke my ex more than to see me moving on with the one guy he hates most, so that’s exactly what I plan to do.

The only hitch in my brilliant scheme is Wick himself. He’s just gotta be all love-not-war and peace-is-the-only-way. He’s more concerned about helping me heal than seeking my sweet revenge.

And what the hell is it about his soothing presence and yummy looks that calls to me until I forget how much pain I’m in? He’s making it awfully hard to use and abuse him for my malicious means. The damn guy is making me fall for him.
 


2.5 Stars

Wick was AMAZING! His character was written perfectly. I felt his passion, his pain, his determination. He was a very strong character and sacrificed everything to do the right thing by Haven- his friends, position in the football team, his sanity...

Haven on the other hand... half of the time I loved her and wanted her as a best friend. The other half her character just made me roll my eyes in frustration. 
At exactly 75% I had to put the book aside and decide if I was going to continue or not -SPOILERS AHEAD - Haven has the guts to ask Wick to 'do his business' in a condom so she can use it to get revenge on her ex on same elaborate and very very stupid plan. That she had such a horrible idea didn't affect me much, but Wick agreeing to do it and even going with her? I turned off my kindle and walked away. What guy agrees to that? unrealistic, stupid, pathetic... just no. It was really really hard to go back to the book after that.

I was also conflicted with the side story that was going on. In between Haven's and Wick's chapters we also got a 3rd pov- Henry's. To start it made no sense whatsoever and threw me off. I got very annoyed every time it was his chapter. It was good, brilliant even, but for along time it felt like two different stories and I did not like that at all. Eventually it all makes sense. Henry's story is heartbreaking and I did like it in the end, but at that point I was also tired of it all already...

In the end the book fell right in the middle of the road for me. Neither great or bad. It had brilliant moments and terrible moments. I think if you enjoy high school romance or young college romance you might like it more than I did, I just have no patience with childish characters, which Haven proved to be. 

Released date yet to be confirmed in May.
Find the book at GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation