Skip to main content

The Princess and the Fangirl (Once Upon a Con #2) by Ashley Poston [arc review]

Did I like The Princess and the Fangirl? Yes I did.
Did I like it as much as Geekerella ? No way...
Blurb:
Imogen Lovelace is an ordinary fangirl on an impossible mission: save her favorite character, Princess Amara, from being killed off from her favorite franchise, Starfield. The problem is, Jessica Stone—the actress who plays Princess Amara—wants nothing more than to leave the intense scrutiny of the fandom behind. If this year's ExcelsiCon isn't her last, she'll consider her career derailed.

When a case of mistaken identity throws look-a-likes Imogen and Jess together, they quickly become enemies. But when the script for the Starfield sequel leaks, and all signs point to Jess, she and Imogen must trade places to find the person responsible. That's easier said than done when the girls step into each other's shoes and discover new romantic possibilities, as well as the other side of intense fandom. As these "princesses" race to find the script-leaker, they must rescue themselves from their own expectations, and redefine what it means to live happily ever after.


3.5 Stars

Ashley Poston once again did a great job at representing every nerd out in the world and I could not love her more for it. Every geeky scene brought a smile to my face.

Imogen was a great character. Lovable, fierce, passionate. Every fangirl out there is likely to connect with her. Her brother was also a fabulous character. Sweet, kind, funny :) 
Her love interest Ethan was an ass to start and I am not sure he redeemed himself in the end. And because I have issues.... I liked him! :)
Jess was a spoiled brat. I didn't like her one bit but she was well written. She was not supposed to come across like a nice person till the end and she didn't. 
I loved the few scenes with Darien as well. The nostalgia was high whenever he was on the page.

Romance wise all couples were severely underdeveloped. Their scenes were my favorite in the book and there wasn't enough of them. 

The YA crowd is often complaining about lack of diversity these days and I am often complaining about the ones done- they feel forced (which in most books is the case. Authors are writing to please an audience rather than because he/she is good at it). In this case however I am happy to say it worked!!! All characters and all relationships were written well and their stories felt real. As I said  earlier there was not enough focus on the couples, but the few moments we got all worked. 

I also loved that the author didn't shy away from the negative sides of a fandom. Both the positives and negatives were on the page. 

The main problem was speed. The plot was awfully slow. It often felt like the author was challenging herself to name as many things from popular fandoms as she could. It was one name drop after another... A whole lot of popular jargon resulting in style over substance. 
Half of that stuff could have been dropped and instead made place for more character development. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon 





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation