Skip to main content

Geekerella by Ashley Poston- 4.75/5 Stars

I read this book (audiobook) because I needed something to listen to while working on my paintings and a friend I trust (Erin Instagram ) really liked it. I had my doubts going in, contemporaries really are a hit or miss for me. And I wasn't sure about it at the beginning either, it was coming across a tad juvenile for me. 

But as the story progressed I started to really enjoy it and connect with it. 
Geekerella is a really sweet romance story, but it is also a 'love letter' to all of us who are a part of a fandom. Considering my obsession with Throne of Glass, The Infernal Devices and Falling Kingdoms I felt very protective of the characters fandom as well 🙂 
The book is also a  Cinderella retelling, something I should have figured out by the book's name I guess... But in a way it is good I didn't know anything about the book before reading it. One because I might not have read it, and two because it would have made it all rather predictable. Like this, I figured out half way through why the book sounded so familiar but at that point I was already really into it- too late to turn back!

Elle and Dorian were adorable! I couldn't help but smile every time they messaged each other. And when they finally meet? That was great and also hilarious. 
But you know what I personally think made this book great? It was a modern take on Cinderella that did not focus almost solely on Cinderella. There was equal focus on Elle, Dorian, AND their fandom! 

All in all a very light sweet read. It could have had a better start, but luckily it righted itself quick enough!  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation