Skip to main content

Geekerella by Ashley Poston- 4.75/5 Stars

I read this book (audiobook) because I needed something to listen to while working on my paintings and a friend I trust (Erin Instagram ) really liked it. I had my doubts going in, contemporaries really are a hit or miss for me. And I wasn't sure about it at the beginning either, it was coming across a tad juvenile for me. 

But as the story progressed I started to really enjoy it and connect with it. 
Geekerella is a really sweet romance story, but it is also a 'love letter' to all of us who are a part of a fandom. Considering my obsession with Throne of Glass, The Infernal Devices and Falling Kingdoms I felt very protective of the characters fandom as well 🙂 
The book is also a  Cinderella retelling, something I should have figured out by the book's name I guess... But in a way it is good I didn't know anything about the book before reading it. One because I might not have read it, and two because it would have made it all rather predictable. Like this, I figured out half way through why the book sounded so familiar but at that point I was already really into it- too late to turn back!

Elle and Dorian were adorable! I couldn't help but smile every time they messaged each other. And when they finally meet? That was great and also hilarious. 
But you know what I personally think made this book great? It was a modern take on Cinderella that did not focus almost solely on Cinderella. There was equal focus on Elle, Dorian, AND their fandom! 

All in all a very light sweet read. It could have had a better start, but luckily it righted itself quick enough!  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.