Skip to main content

Young Adult age group

Because I am a librarian I get asked this question a lot: What is the YA age bracket?
MY answer as someone that works with kids and parents is 15+... but the full answer is not that straight forward.
The term Young Adult means one thing in everyday society and another in the publishing world. 
In psychology, young adults are anyone between the ages of 18 to around 25. 
In the publishing world, young adult is a marketing term (not a genre as we often call it) and is geared to slightly older teens. Let's face it, it's a clever marketing term, not many teens like to be called a teen (because we usually refer to teens as immature and confused), so the term 'young adult' is much friendlier. It also works for older people (like myself) that enjoy that type of literature, hence YA literature does not have a maximum age. In fact, adults make up well over 40% of the YA market. 

In book publishing though, the marketing categories often are:   
  • children's books 0-8
  • middle grade/juvenile 9-12
  • young adult 12+  
  • new adult and adult fiction 18+
Now, take that with a grain of salt. Cleverly so, publishing companies are trying to maximize their market.
So there are three things you should keep in mind:
  • often when ya authors are asked their target audience they will answer 15+
  • if you go to a library, school or other, it is unlikely the age bracket above will be followed because many ya books are not considered appropriate for such young teens. And as a library worker I wholeheartedly agree. Six of crows for example caused us problems with parents because of the violence. Many books that deal with mental problems or abuse are too heavy for young teens too. There are exceptions of-course, but more often than not, 12 is too young of age for about 50% of the ya books out there.
  • last but not least, many readers that grow up reading a certain author will continue to call that author's books ya even if the author has tried to move away from it. Sarah J Maas being a perfect example. Acotar series is NOT ya, once the book has explicit sex scenes, it is no longer ya. And that brings up to a very new category in the publishing world: New Adult! New adult books are (put shortly here) all ya like books that have explicit sex. NA has the same style of writing and similar topics as ya, but it also provides what many adults miss in ya... 
I hope this helps! 😊 Any questions feel free to ask.



Comments

  1. I absolutely love your blogs! I saw your post on instagram so here's an extra entry! @alyssacorn0925

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation