Skip to main content

Sublime by Christina Lauren- 3.8/5

Sublime started off really well. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept.
It is a story a troubled boy and a strange girl that is not really a girl. They understand each other perfectly and become obsessed with each other. The book explores the lengths the boy is willing to go to be with the girl he loves.
The Blurb: Sublime

I was captivated by Lucy's story and very much looking forward to figuring out how and why she was back from the dead.
Her connection with Collin was intriguing. We don't find out until much later in the book how and when their connection was formed and I thought it was rather clever. Yes, there is a certain amount of 'insta-love' but that is one of Christina Lauren's trade mark, I don't mind it. I actually find they write those really well. 

I believe the book was all in all very clever. It is a tad morbid once you start realizing exactly what their connection means and it got my heart racing a little faster. But that makes the whole thing more interesting. 

As per usual with Christina Lauren the writing style was phenomenal. Everything is well described, there is both a magical and an eerie feeling to the setting of the story. And although all is really well described, at no point does it becomes overbearing as is the case with so many books.

My issue with Sublime is with its ending. It felt rushed. I suspected it would end the way it did but it needed to be developed further, it needed more details.  I went back to the book now to make sure I am giving you guys an accurate description---> the book ending is written on the last page, front and back. That's it. When I finished reading it I turned the page expecting it to continue... It made very little sense and left me rather confused. It was far to abrupt and created more questions instead of giving closure. 
I get what they were trying to do, the feelings they were trying to evoke... but I guess it just didn't work for me. And after reading a few other reviews, that sadly seems to be the overall feeling...

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b