Skip to main content

Sublime by Christina Lauren- 3.8/5

Sublime started off really well. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept.
It is a story a troubled boy and a strange girl that is not really a girl. They understand each other perfectly and become obsessed with each other. The book explores the lengths the boy is willing to go to be with the girl he loves.
The Blurb: Sublime

I was captivated by Lucy's story and very much looking forward to figuring out how and why she was back from the dead.
Her connection with Collin was intriguing. We don't find out until much later in the book how and when their connection was formed and I thought it was rather clever. Yes, there is a certain amount of 'insta-love' but that is one of Christina Lauren's trade mark, I don't mind it. I actually find they write those really well. 

I believe the book was all in all very clever. It is a tad morbid once you start realizing exactly what their connection means and it got my heart racing a little faster. But that makes the whole thing more interesting. 

As per usual with Christina Lauren the writing style was phenomenal. Everything is well described, there is both a magical and an eerie feeling to the setting of the story. And although all is really well described, at no point does it becomes overbearing as is the case with so many books.

My issue with Sublime is with its ending. It felt rushed. I suspected it would end the way it did but it needed to be developed further, it needed more details.  I went back to the book now to make sure I am giving you guys an accurate description---> the book ending is written on the last page, front and back. That's it. When I finished reading it I turned the page expecting it to continue... It made very little sense and left me rather confused. It was far to abrupt and created more questions instead of giving closure. 
I get what they were trying to do, the feelings they were trying to evoke... but I guess it just didn't work for me. And after reading a few other reviews, that sadly seems to be the overall feeling...

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.