Skip to main content

Unforgiven by Lauren Kate- 5/5 stars

I cannot believe the Fallen series by Lauren Kate is 8 years old already. Has it really been that long since the first book come out? Goodness... it makes me fell old 👵
I dedicated my very first blog post to this series as it was the series that got me into reading ya fantasy/supernatural, but I haven't yet read Cam's story. Between book box subscriptions, new releases, arcs, etc Cam's story (that is now two years old) was kept unread. Well, this week I finally got to it!

It isn't really the 5th book in the series, it is a stand alone book on Cam. I knew that before going in, so it wasn't a surprise. It is set many may years after the Fallen series, Daniel and Luce are long gone...

The story is mostly set in the present. Cam finds out that the love of his life is in Hell and he bargains with the Devil to set her free. Every now and then there are glimpses to the past, to when they met, fell in love, and Cam broke her heart. 

The Fallen series is rather cheesy and preteen ish, I was surprised with Unforgiven. It was a somewhat more mature work by Lauren Kate. I would wager it has something to do with  Cam's character being darker than Daniel's and Luce's ever were, giving the author more freedom to write a darker and tad more mature story. It was no doubt a fast read and my favorite book in the series. I have always loved Cam and it was nice to get a book focused solely on him.




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b