Skip to main content

Unforgiven by Lauren Kate- 5/5 stars

I cannot believe the Fallen series by Lauren Kate is 8 years old already. Has it really been that long since the first book come out? Goodness... it makes me fell old 👵
I dedicated my very first blog post to this series as it was the series that got me into reading ya fantasy/supernatural, but I haven't yet read Cam's story. Between book box subscriptions, new releases, arcs, etc Cam's story (that is now two years old) was kept unread. Well, this week I finally got to it!

It isn't really the 5th book in the series, it is a stand alone book on Cam. I knew that before going in, so it wasn't a surprise. It is set many may years after the Fallen series, Daniel and Luce are long gone...

The story is mostly set in the present. Cam finds out that the love of his life is in Hell and he bargains with the Devil to set her free. Every now and then there are glimpses to the past, to when they met, fell in love, and Cam broke her heart. 

The Fallen series is rather cheesy and preteen ish, I was surprised with Unforgiven. It was a somewhat more mature work by Lauren Kate. I would wager it has something to do with  Cam's character being darker than Daniel's and Luce's ever were, giving the author more freedom to write a darker and tad more mature story. It was no doubt a fast read and my favorite book in the series. I have always loved Cam and it was nice to get a book focused solely on him.




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.