Skip to main content

Unbreakable by Rebecca Shea- 4/5 Stars

I cried ugly tears...

It has been a while since a New Adult book has made me cry! It ends with us was by Colleen Hoover evoked emotions but although many like classifying it as a New Adult, it isn't. It is a contemporary romance novel, so it doesn't count here... 😉

The story is centered around Gabe and Jess. Jess lost her mother at a very young age, her dad buried himself with work as a coping mechanism and the neighbors, the Garcias, pretty much brought Jess up as their own daughter. 
Jess becomes best friends with Ava Garcia, they are like sisters in every way but blood. And Gabe is the Garcia's younger son. Jess has had a crush on Gabe for years but never dared saying anything. The story really starts when Ava and Jess go visit Gabe at his college and join him on a house party. Gabe steals a kiss and things progress from there.

At least half of the book is spent on their growing relationship and it makes for an adorable and sweet read. I knew by the book blurb that something bad was going to happen to them but I most certainly did not see that coming! -sorry guys, can't tell ya, that would be major spoiler! But if you can't survive not knowing, just msg me 😉-

Funnily enough the ugly cry did not come from what happened. It came a few chapters later. The author spent so much of the book making us fall in love with them and their relationship that when things got hard it hit you hard too. 

I loved both Gabe and Jess. Jess was by no means perfect. She made mistakes and she both changed and grew from them. Gabe's character suffers a little from being too perfect, but I loved him too. The way he acted was noble and I couldn't help but feel for him.

Towards the end of the book a new character is added, Landon... man I loved that dude! I was SO SO SO happy when I found out that the next book is his story. He deserves his happy ending after... (go read to find out 🤣)

So... I guess you want to know why not 5 stars? Well, it doesn't compare to some NA's that I've given 5 stars to in the past. The first half of the book although beautiful and necessary for you to connect with the main characters did at times felt a little repetitive.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation