Skip to main content

Unbreakable by Rebecca Shea- 4/5 Stars

I cried ugly tears...

It has been a while since a New Adult book has made me cry! It ends with us was by Colleen Hoover evoked emotions but although many like classifying it as a New Adult, it isn't. It is a contemporary romance novel, so it doesn't count here... 😉

The story is centered around Gabe and Jess. Jess lost her mother at a very young age, her dad buried himself with work as a coping mechanism and the neighbors, the Garcias, pretty much brought Jess up as their own daughter. 
Jess becomes best friends with Ava Garcia, they are like sisters in every way but blood. And Gabe is the Garcia's younger son. Jess has had a crush on Gabe for years but never dared saying anything. The story really starts when Ava and Jess go visit Gabe at his college and join him on a house party. Gabe steals a kiss and things progress from there.

At least half of the book is spent on their growing relationship and it makes for an adorable and sweet read. I knew by the book blurb that something bad was going to happen to them but I most certainly did not see that coming! -sorry guys, can't tell ya, that would be major spoiler! But if you can't survive not knowing, just msg me 😉-

Funnily enough the ugly cry did not come from what happened. It came a few chapters later. The author spent so much of the book making us fall in love with them and their relationship that when things got hard it hit you hard too. 

I loved both Gabe and Jess. Jess was by no means perfect. She made mistakes and she both changed and grew from them. Gabe's character suffers a little from being too perfect, but I loved him too. The way he acted was noble and I couldn't help but feel for him.

Towards the end of the book a new character is added, Landon... man I loved that dude! I was SO SO SO happy when I found out that the next book is his story. He deserves his happy ending after... (go read to find out 🤣)

So... I guess you want to know why not 5 stars? Well, it doesn't compare to some NA's that I've given 5 stars to in the past. The first half of the book although beautiful and necessary for you to connect with the main characters did at times felt a little repetitive.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.