Skip to main content

The Traitor's Kiss by Erin Beaty- 4.5/5 Stars

OMG!!! I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Let me just fangirl here for a moment before we get to the nitty-gritty: This books had one of the hottest scenes in YA without anything actually happening. It will leave you breathless. It's epic! (and I mean ya people... not books we call YA but aren't- thinking SJM here)

I enjoy reading other people's reviews before writing my own, to get a little extra perspective I suppose. Not this time! What is wrong with you people? I had to turn away... 

There is no girl on girl hate! The book reminds me of the Jane Austen novels, of a time where marriages were arranged and woman could not choose their path in life. A time where social status was more important than intelligence. Yes, most of the girls do not like Sage, but it is a class issue. Sage is seen as a poor commoner that does not deserve to be with the noble girls. It was a reality of our society, why shy away from it? It's part of our history, not a girl on girl hate thing. More so, have you worked with teens? Teen girls can be horribly mean. It is a reality of our world... And it is not like all of the book was like that either... One of the girls actually becomes very close friends with our Sage. All in all I loved the book's message: Girls can be different, they can be and do what they want! They can be fighters like our Sage, business woman like our matchmaker, doted wives like our other girls are training to be and WANT to be, or something else entirely. 

Sage was a great character! Free spirited, intelligent, brave. But also young, and therefore naive. Her interactions with the matchmaker made me laugh, it was obvious that the matchmaker was trying to help her grow out of her misconceptions and naivete, and at times even narrow minded ways. Sage felt very real to me. She was a girl that wanted more than the society she lived in were willing to give, but also a girl who still needed to learn things are not always black and white. I loved her fascination with the army and curious mind. It made the beginning of the book rather fun to read since it confused the soldiers so very much as to her true intentions. 

To off-set her naivete there were the soldiers. All just as young but brave man that have seen too much to still be as ingenuous. It gets confusing with them (and I can't tell you why without giving away some of the story), but I liked them all and was heartbroken at the end.

The plot twists were amazingly well written. I got so confused as to who was who when the plot started to unfold. BRILLIANT! The plot is also constructed masterfully. All the military plans and actions are clever and well thought out by the author. There was enough action to keep you on edge but not so much as to overwhelm you as well.

The romance was slow burning. There was no insta-love. They were friends first, and I liked that. I thought that ship was gonna sink more times than I can count. So much happens! Their story is cray cray 🤣

I am not giving it a 5 because I want more... and since this has become a trilogy I suppose my wishes will be granted! 

I guess the book also gets crap for not being tactful towards the skin color descriptions. I just laughed at that. An author doesn't include diversity: people complain he/she didn't. An author does include: people complain about how he/she did it. There are 7 billion people in this world, there are therefore more than a handful of ways of describing -to use the authors terminology- people with darker skin. 

I strongly encourage you to read this if you enjoy YA romance and Spy Novels! 







Comments

  1. Yay! What a great review :-) you've made me so excited to read this!!

    Nat - @faerytales_and_fangirling

    ReplyDelete
  2. If the cover was enough for me, now I think with your review I REALLY need to read this book! I mean, I love the plot twists and I HATE the insta-love! Looks great!��

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b