Skip to main content

How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow [arc review]

I am speechless and lost in a tsunami of emotions. 
Kathleen Glasgow surprised me and shocked me with Girl in Pieces, and it is no different here. 

Grief sucks
Grief stinks
There is no happy ending in grief
So needless to say (and true to what I now consider Kathleen Glasgow's style), there is no happy ending here either...

The Blurb:
Here is what happens when your mother dies.

It’s the brightest day of summer and it’s dark outside. It’s dark in your house, dark in your room, and dark in your heart. You feel like the darkness is going to split you apart.

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

Here is how you learn to make friends with the dark.


The review: 5 Stars

It is hard to review a book that left you speechless. How to Make Friends with the Dark is not for the faint hearted. It deals with grief and loss in a very raw and real way. Tiger lost everything, and I truly mean everything. She goes from being a normal teen annoyed at her mum for picking a dress she didn't want -typical- to being alone. One day she has a house and a mother, the next she is in foster care living with strangers. 

Grief is not an easy topic to put on paper. The thoughts and emotions that usually follow a teen in grief (and many adults) is not either: depression, suicidal thoughts, loneliness, trauma, etc. Kathleen Glasgow described all of those perfectly. My heart was breaking for Tiger and the other kids while reading the book. And as someone that has been in foster care and is now a foster mum I can also tell you with certainty that all of those feelings are real, that all those situations can happen and do happen. The accuracy of it all was phenomenal. 

The thing I loved most about the book was the ending. It has became a habit to say "everything will be ok" and Kathleen Glasgow makes it very clear it is NOT. Grief sucks and it stays with you, life is hard, and that is ok. It is ok to cry, it is ok to be in pain, and it is ok to say it is not going to be ok.

Release date: April 9th, 2019
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b