Skip to main content

For His Pleasure (Forbidden Lovers #3) by Shelly Bell [arc review]

Another good read provided by Read Forever Pub!
Some romance, some thriller...

https://www.instagram.com/glimpses_of_my_books/

Blurb:
Cash Turner could never resist a woman in need. It's what shapes his desires--and sealed his fate. Recently released from prison after serving time for a murder he didn't commit, Cash has to keep his head down and stay out of trouble. That means avoiding the curvy, delicious temptation of Dreama Agosto . . . a woman who holds his future in her hands.

Dreama knew returning to work wouldn't be easy, but she wasn't prepared for Cash Turner. He's tall, commanding, the first man to spark her interest in a year . . . and her newest parolee. It doesn't take long for Dreama to realize that there's more to him--and his case--than meets the eye. As the two of them investigate the murder that led to his incarceration, they explore the growing desire between them, risking more than her career. Because now that the real killer has set his sights on Dreama, she's also risking her life.
 

The Review: 3 Stars

The book stars off with a bang. An act of violence that leaves you a little confused as to where the story is going but also very curious about it.

Cash is a little broken, he wasn't held an easy card in life. He is a good man and a rather likable character. 
Dreama was the true star of the book. Her confidence, determination and courage while at the same time still fragile and suffering some ptsd made her relatable and very likable. 

The negatives for me would be one, the intimate scenes- I really really didn't care for them and the "I want you to hurt me" comment at the end was very off putting. And two, although I enjoyed the suspense aspect of it some parts were so far fetched they were eye rolling. 

All in all For His Pleasure had a good story, it just wasn't one that will stay with me for long. It was rather generic in many ways. 


Release day: June 18th, 2019
Find the book at: Goodreads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.