Skip to main content

The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez [audio book] [arc review]

Humm.... what to say what to say...
I really liked The Friend Zone. A lot of it was relatable, fun, funny, charming... but I can't say it was perfect.

"Food was my currency. Hungry was an emotion for me. I felt that shit in my soul."


Blurb:

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.

Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen—especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.


The Review: 3 Stars

Kristen was a fun character. Easy to love. She has an absolutely amazing sense of humor and sense of self, is a great friend, intelligent, successful with her small business... 
Similar things can be said about Josh. Great sense of humor, good at what he does, intelligent, fun...
They fit perfectly. At no point there is any doubt that they are made for each other. The banter between all characters was 100% on point and I loved them all!!

However, the novel wasn't perfect.
We know Kristen cannot have children from the blurb and from the very first pages of the book, this is the background issue throughout the story. And when I say throughout the story, I mean it is mentioned a gazillion times. And yet, Josh knows nothing about it for FOREVER. The lack of communication and therefore inner dialogue repetition was annoying. 
And the ending was all off. There is a sad 'thing' that really didn't need to happen and a 'happy' thing that made no sense at all after we got pounded through the book it could not be... I really strongly disliked the ending. It could have been a 4 star book otherwise...

Anyways, considering this is a debut novel I gotta give the author a round of applause. This was a fantastic debut novel, a great romantic comedy. I found myself laughing and swooning over the characters often.


Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation