Skip to main content

The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez [audio book] [arc review]

Humm.... what to say what to say...
I really liked The Friend Zone. A lot of it was relatable, fun, funny, charming... but I can't say it was perfect.

"Food was my currency. Hungry was an emotion for me. I felt that shit in my soul."


Blurb:

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.

Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen—especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.


The Review: 3 Stars

Kristen was a fun character. Easy to love. She has an absolutely amazing sense of humor and sense of self, is a great friend, intelligent, successful with her small business... 
Similar things can be said about Josh. Great sense of humor, good at what he does, intelligent, fun...
They fit perfectly. At no point there is any doubt that they are made for each other. The banter between all characters was 100% on point and I loved them all!!

However, the novel wasn't perfect.
We know Kristen cannot have children from the blurb and from the very first pages of the book, this is the background issue throughout the story. And when I say throughout the story, I mean it is mentioned a gazillion times. And yet, Josh knows nothing about it for FOREVER. The lack of communication and therefore inner dialogue repetition was annoying. 
And the ending was all off. There is a sad 'thing' that really didn't need to happen and a 'happy' thing that made no sense at all after we got pounded through the book it could not be... I really strongly disliked the ending. It could have been a 4 star book otherwise...

Anyways, considering this is a debut novel I gotta give the author a round of applause. This was a fantastic debut novel, a great romantic comedy. I found myself laughing and swooning over the characters often.


Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon



Comments

  1. Very well written article. It was an awesome article to read. Complete rich content and fully informative. I totally Loved it. Mr Pikes Audiobook Online

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.