Skip to main content

Christmas with a Cowboy (Longhorn Canyon #5) by Carolyn Brown [arc review]

Christmas with a Cowboy, Carolyn Brown
@glimpses_of_my_books
Hello Sunnies :)
Can you believe is October already? Christmas themed books have started to come out and here is my first read of the year! 
It was exactly what you would expect from a Christmas romance. Sweet, family oriented, whimsical. 

Blurb:
A rugged Texas cowboy gets into the Christmas spirit to prove himself to the woman he loves in this heartwarming fifth novel of the USA Today bestselling series.

Maverick Callahan lives up to his reputation as a freewheeling cowboy. But a year ago he fell head-over-heels for an extraordinary woman he met while on vacation, a woman he was convinced he'd never see again. So when she appears on his doorstep like a Christmas miracle, Maverick is determined not to waste his lucky break.

Bridget O'Malley's world has flipped upside down. As the new guardian of her best friend's baby, she hasn't had a moment to think about the Texas rancher who broke her heart. He's just as sexy as ever, but she knows better than anyone that he's not the settling-down type. As the trees are trimmed and mistletoe hung, will some holiday magic help Bridget trust this carefree cowboy with her heart and her future?

The Review: 4 Stars

Who here likes a feel good story? Because that is exactly what this is. As it should... that is the most important and expected thing from a Christmas romance after all. 

Maverick was not at all what I was expecting from the blurb. We don't get to see here none of his more 'adventurous' personality traits. He is caring, loving, hard working and does just about everything right. Exactly what a single mother like Bridget needed in her life when she needed most. 

Bridget in turn is the same. She is an amazing mother to her friend's baby and is doing everything she can to provide for the little kid. 

The best character in the book was no doubt Maverick's meddling granny. She knew exactly what she was doing when she asked Bridget to come and help and everything she did after that too. She was brilliant from beginning to end and made me laugh constantly. 

The book lacks some oomph for me, but that truly is a matter of preference. A lot of people like sweet easy to read romances like that. I just need my books to have a little more. If that little more is angst, sexual chemistry, diversity, or else, depends on the story. But it does need something other than just a sweet couple. So as nice as this was, in the end I felt like there was something missing, and therefore it cannot be a 5 to me.
Go Read.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.