Skip to main content

Christmas with a Cowboy (Longhorn Canyon #5) by Carolyn Brown [arc review]

Christmas with a Cowboy, Carolyn Brown
@glimpses_of_my_books
Hello Sunnies :)
Can you believe is October already? Christmas themed books have started to come out and here is my first read of the year! 
It was exactly what you would expect from a Christmas romance. Sweet, family oriented, whimsical. 

Blurb:
A rugged Texas cowboy gets into the Christmas spirit to prove himself to the woman he loves in this heartwarming fifth novel of the USA Today bestselling series.

Maverick Callahan lives up to his reputation as a freewheeling cowboy. But a year ago he fell head-over-heels for an extraordinary woman he met while on vacation, a woman he was convinced he'd never see again. So when she appears on his doorstep like a Christmas miracle, Maverick is determined not to waste his lucky break.

Bridget O'Malley's world has flipped upside down. As the new guardian of her best friend's baby, she hasn't had a moment to think about the Texas rancher who broke her heart. He's just as sexy as ever, but she knows better than anyone that he's not the settling-down type. As the trees are trimmed and mistletoe hung, will some holiday magic help Bridget trust this carefree cowboy with her heart and her future?

The Review: 4 Stars

Who here likes a feel good story? Because that is exactly what this is. As it should... that is the most important and expected thing from a Christmas romance after all. 

Maverick was not at all what I was expecting from the blurb. We don't get to see here none of his more 'adventurous' personality traits. He is caring, loving, hard working and does just about everything right. Exactly what a single mother like Bridget needed in her life when she needed most. 

Bridget in turn is the same. She is an amazing mother to her friend's baby and is doing everything she can to provide for the little kid. 

The best character in the book was no doubt Maverick's meddling granny. She knew exactly what she was doing when she asked Bridget to come and help and everything she did after that too. She was brilliant from beginning to end and made me laugh constantly. 

The book lacks some oomph for me, but that truly is a matter of preference. A lot of people like sweet easy to read romances like that. I just need my books to have a little more. If that little more is angst, sexual chemistry, diversity, or else, depends on the story. But it does need something other than just a sweet couple. So as nice as this was, in the end I felt like there was something missing, and therefore it cannot be a 5 to me.
Go Read.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation