Skip to main content

Snowfall on Cedar Trail (Sweetwater Springs #3) by Annie Rains [arc review]

Another Day, another Christmas book.
It's that time of the year!
The Blurb:

Last Christmas was tough for Halona Locklear and her seven-year-old son Theo, who hasn't spoken a word since his father's death. This year, Halona wants nothing more than to give him a good holiday and to hear his sweet voice again. Enrolling him in the Mentor Match program might help, but when Theo gets matched with Sweetwater Springs Chief of Police, Alex Baker, Halona realizes that the handsome hero might know secrets about her past that she is determined to keep buried.
Chief of Police, Alex Baker, re-opens his father's hit-and-run cold case every December, hoping to finally solve it. This year, his plate is full with being a Mentor Match to a young seven-year-old boy as well. His biggest obstacle, however, is fighting his attraction to the boy's mother, Halona. As Alex gets close to solving his father's cold case, he learns that those closest to him may be in danger -- including Halona. Alex has already lost one of the most important people in his life; he isn't about to lose her too, even if it means walking away to keep her safe.

The Review: 2.5 Stars
I have mixed emotions on this one. I liked it... and I didn't... It also appears I am alone in not liking it so much. Why oh why do I always have to be the one with unpopular opinions?! 🤦 #storyofmylife

Anyway...I liked Halona. She is a hard working mother who has gone through a lot in life and is trying her best to make her son happy and talk again. I also really liked Alex, he was the perfect man to get her little boy out of his shell and the perfect man for her. He is steady, loyal, handsome :)
Their romance was nice as well. They were careful around Theo and respectful to each other. There were no passionate fireworks but they fit. 
Now, did you get excited over that description? Nope?! yah... that is one of my issues with the book.
It was nice. It wasn't exciting. 
It was nice. It wasn't memorable.
The romance was nice. It wasn't passionate.
The MC's were nice. They weren't relatable or super interesting....

And the background story? blah... Alex's dad died years ago and no one has found the killer. All the way towards the end of the book everything gets sorted really fast. Anti-climatic. 

All in all it wasn't a bad read or I would never have finished it, I don't torture myself through books. But it wasn't great either. I said this before and I will say this again: I need my romances to have a little more to it than just a sweet easy boy meets girl story. Liking it or not, most holiday romances are exactly that, hence I almost never read them. That being said, I've read a few I loved, so I am not completely giving up on them just yet. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop - Kindle - Libro.fm (audio)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation