Skip to main content

Faker by Sarah Smith

Faker by Sarah Smith @glimpses_of_my_books

Debut author Sarah Smith nails this fun and sexy multicultural romance where two office foes hammer out their differences to build a love that will last...



Emmie Echavarre is a professional faker. She has to be to survive as one of the few female employees at Nuts & Bolts, a power tool company staffed predominantly by gruff, burly men. From nine to five, Monday through Friday, she's tough as nails--the complete opposite of her easy-going real self.

One thing she doesn't have to fake? Her disdain for coworker Tate Rasmussen. Tate has been hostile to her since the day they met. Emmie's friendly greetings and repeated attempts to get to know him failed to garner anything more than scowls and terse one-word answers. Too bad she can't stop staring at his Thor-like biceps...

When Emmie and Tate are forced to work together on a charity construction project, things get...heated. Emmie's beginning to see that beneath Tate's chiseled exterior lies a soft heart, but it will take more than a few kind words to erase the past and convince her that what they have is real. 


The Review: 3 Stars

Sarah Smith debut novel was charming. A sweet and heart warming hate to lovers office romance while at the same time dealing with some more serious topics such as prejudice and sexual harassment at work. 
Tate was the star of the show. There is no doubt from beginning to end that he has a thing for his coworker and does not have the guts to say or do anything about it. 
He is quiet and keeps to himself. His closed off, serious, and at times rude demeanor are just his ways to hide from the world- and he likes it that way. 
After Emmie suffers an accident at work his overprotective and possessive side starts to show. As does his sweet, charming, caring and loving personality... he was in every way possible adorable.
Emmie is a force of nature. Working with so many guys everyday is not easy and she has mastered it. 
The book focus strongly on Emmie and Tate's growth and life struggles. She as a Filipino girl who moved to the midwest as a kid and got picked on all throughout school and he is an a very introverted guy who got made fun of or was disliked for being quiet. 
Their slow burn romance was entertaining and left me with a smile on my face.

This was a debut novel though and it wasn't without fault. Their bickering in the beginning went on a little longer than necessary and the constant explaining of why they are the way they are got to be bit much too. Lastly, who on earth kisses someone without looking at them first? The added drama in the end was not necessary. The book could either be shorter or have a less rushed ending. Everything happened a little to fast at the end and I feel like I missed something.

Overall a fantastic debut! Go Read!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation