Skip to main content

Coldest Fire (Dominion #3) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

And Juliette does it again! 
This author is an a roll. If paranormal is your jam, as it is mine, read read read!

"It’s just that…sometimes…the past can leave scars that dig too deep. That can never be erased. And so, we have to be content with a half-life once we’ve flown our course and made it through to the other side without burning.”
(uncorrected arc quote)


Blurb:
Archangel Uriel is hell bent on revenge on the demon prince Vladek. To get into the prince’s impenetrable fortress, he’ll have to fight in the pits of the underworld. And he’ll need the help of the last person he can trust––the demon witch Nadya.

There is no way Nadya, who spends her days taking care of others, expected to find Uriel on her doorstep. He seems no happier about being there than she does. But helping him means evening the scales against her backstabbing sister, and she’ll do whatever it takes to make that bitch pay.

Using the fight pit circuits in the demon underworld, Nadya helps Uriel combat his way to the arena at the castle in Russia. Only she isn’t what she seems. As a matter of fact, she may hold the key to his redemption...and to his heart.

The Review: 4 Stars

Ahh... the beauty that is picking up a book and knowing it will brighten your day before you even start. That is what Juliette brings to the table every time. I never worry or wonder if I will like the book, I know I will. Coldest Fire was exactly what the blurb promised: a story of a good hearted angel ready for vengeance and to fight the world to make things right; a story of two souls that have been to hell and back and need each other to fully heal; a story of vengeance, but also passion and love :)

Uriel may come across to start as a moody and broody male, but he really isn't. He is an angel, a softy at heart. Always wiling to help and to protect those who need and those he cares about. And boy does he care!!! I think that is part of why he comes across so closed off at first, he cares a lot, he cares too much, and he is hurting bad from all that was done to him. But he is also healing, and going after the ones that hurt him is part of it. 
Nadya if both the same and the exact opposite. Although she does not come across as closed off as he, she also feels too much and is hurting, she is also healing. Helping Uriel helps her.
They are both wonderful good hearted characters that you just wanna snuggle with - or at least I do. Yah yah, Uriel also happens to be a killing machine, but that is part of his charm.

Needless to say (for those that have read the previous books), Dom is my hero! the handful of scenes with him made me giggle and love him even more. He is incorrigible and I adore him for it. It was nice seeing the previous and well loved characters make an appearance. 
Could you read this as a stand alone? sure thing... but I think that this time if you did you would feel like you are missing something. I would recommend you start from the beginning. This is just book 3, you can do it :)

All in all this was a fantastic read! The battle scenes were all well written - I specially loved Vladek's ending! The romance built up nicely and the chemistry was on point. There wasn't anything about the book that I did not like, it just didn't hook me in the same way my bad boy Dom did. Nothing will really... I like my bad boys and I know most of you will fall head over hills for Uriel. So Go Read! :) 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon
Release Date: November 18, 2019



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b