Skip to main content

Coldest Fire (Dominion #3) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

And Juliette does it again! 
This author is an a roll. If paranormal is your jam, as it is mine, read read read!

"It’s just that…sometimes…the past can leave scars that dig too deep. That can never be erased. And so, we have to be content with a half-life once we’ve flown our course and made it through to the other side without burning.”
(uncorrected arc quote)


Blurb:
Archangel Uriel is hell bent on revenge on the demon prince Vladek. To get into the prince’s impenetrable fortress, he’ll have to fight in the pits of the underworld. And he’ll need the help of the last person he can trust––the demon witch Nadya.

There is no way Nadya, who spends her days taking care of others, expected to find Uriel on her doorstep. He seems no happier about being there than she does. But helping him means evening the scales against her backstabbing sister, and she’ll do whatever it takes to make that bitch pay.

Using the fight pit circuits in the demon underworld, Nadya helps Uriel combat his way to the arena at the castle in Russia. Only she isn’t what she seems. As a matter of fact, she may hold the key to his redemption...and to his heart.

The Review: 4 Stars

Ahh... the beauty that is picking up a book and knowing it will brighten your day before you even start. That is what Juliette brings to the table every time. I never worry or wonder if I will like the book, I know I will. Coldest Fire was exactly what the blurb promised: a story of a good hearted angel ready for vengeance and to fight the world to make things right; a story of two souls that have been to hell and back and need each other to fully heal; a story of vengeance, but also passion and love :)

Uriel may come across to start as a moody and broody male, but he really isn't. He is an angel, a softy at heart. Always wiling to help and to protect those who need and those he cares about. And boy does he care!!! I think that is part of why he comes across so closed off at first, he cares a lot, he cares too much, and he is hurting bad from all that was done to him. But he is also healing, and going after the ones that hurt him is part of it. 
Nadya if both the same and the exact opposite. Although she does not come across as closed off as he, she also feels too much and is hurting, she is also healing. Helping Uriel helps her.
They are both wonderful good hearted characters that you just wanna snuggle with - or at least I do. Yah yah, Uriel also happens to be a killing machine, but that is part of his charm.

Needless to say (for those that have read the previous books), Dom is my hero! the handful of scenes with him made me giggle and love him even more. He is incorrigible and I adore him for it. It was nice seeing the previous and well loved characters make an appearance. 
Could you read this as a stand alone? sure thing... but I think that this time if you did you would feel like you are missing something. I would recommend you start from the beginning. This is just book 3, you can do it :)

All in all this was a fantastic read! The battle scenes were all well written - I specially loved Vladek's ending! The romance built up nicely and the chemistry was on point. There wasn't anything about the book that I did not like, it just didn't hook me in the same way my bad boy Dom did. Nothing will really... I like my bad boys and I know most of you will fall head over hills for Uriel. So Go Read! :) 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon
Release Date: November 18, 2019



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.