Skip to main content

No Judgments (Little Bridge Island #1) by Meg Cabot [arc review]

Easy to read romance! 
...but not at all what I hoped for...


Blurb: 
The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island, Florida—and it’s sending waves crashing through Sabrina “Bree” Beckham’s love life…

When a massive hurricane severs all power and cell service to Little Bridge Island—as well as its connection to the mainland—twenty-five-year-old Bree Beckham isn’t worried . . . at first. She’s already escaped one storm—her emotionally abusive ex—so a hurricane seems like it will be a piece of cake.

But animal-loving Bree does become alarmed when she realizes how many islanders have been cut off from their beloved pets. Now it’s up to her to save as many of Little Bridge’s cats and dogs as she can . . . but to do so, she’s going to need help—help she has no choice but to accept from her boss’s sexy nephew, Drew Hartwell, the Mermaid CafĂ©’s most notorious heartbreaker.
But when Bree starts falling for Drew, just as Little Bridge’s power is restored and her penitent ex shows up, she has to ask herself if her island fling was only a result of the stormy weather, or if it could last during clear skies too.

The Review: 2.5 Stars

So... here is the thing: while I read this I was convinced this was a contemporary young adult romance. The writing style, the way the story progressed, the fact the main girl was taking a break from college, etc all screamed young adult. And than, towards the end, boom!!! sex!!! "oh... not ya than..." 
I never read Meg Cabot, but after finishing the book I found this: “Meg Cabot is best known for her books for younger readers, but her adult fiction is a total delight.”— Popsugar . I didn't know she wrote for younger readers, but I am not one little bit surprised to have found that out. 
I am not a fan of contemporary young adult romance so it is no surprise that although I thought this was good, I did not love it. Much of it was immature and silly. And there were some serious problems with it too. For example, she confronts the guy that assaulted her towards the end and although I am neither in favor or against guns I have to say the use of it here was wrong. Another example is how the author downplayed the dangers of a category 5 hurricane. Not cool. 

Anyway, although there were quite a few negatives, I won't go through them all. Why? because I still finished the book in one sitting. Drew and  Bree's interactions were funny and cute. 
If you are an animal lover this will likely make you smile too. The way Bree and Drew's entire family treats animals is rather sweet. 

That is it from me today. I really could write more on the negatives but because I actually read it so fast and smiled quite a bit through it I will leave it alone. If you enjoy reading contemporary young adult romance I am sure you will have less issues with it than I did. 

⚠ Content Warnings:  Dealing with trauma and abuse, use of guns, animal abuse.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.