Skip to main content

No Judgments (Little Bridge Island #1) by Meg Cabot [arc review]

Easy to read romance! 
...but not at all what I hoped for...


Blurb: 
The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island, Florida—and it’s sending waves crashing through Sabrina “Bree” Beckham’s love life…

When a massive hurricane severs all power and cell service to Little Bridge Island—as well as its connection to the mainland—twenty-five-year-old Bree Beckham isn’t worried . . . at first. She’s already escaped one storm—her emotionally abusive ex—so a hurricane seems like it will be a piece of cake.

But animal-loving Bree does become alarmed when she realizes how many islanders have been cut off from their beloved pets. Now it’s up to her to save as many of Little Bridge’s cats and dogs as she can . . . but to do so, she’s going to need help—help she has no choice but to accept from her boss’s sexy nephew, Drew Hartwell, the Mermaid Café’s most notorious heartbreaker.
But when Bree starts falling for Drew, just as Little Bridge’s power is restored and her penitent ex shows up, she has to ask herself if her island fling was only a result of the stormy weather, or if it could last during clear skies too.

The Review: 2.5 Stars

So... here is the thing: while I read this I was convinced this was a contemporary young adult romance. The writing style, the way the story progressed, the fact the main girl was taking a break from college, etc all screamed young adult. And than, towards the end, boom!!! sex!!! "oh... not ya than..." 
I never read Meg Cabot, but after finishing the book I found this: “Meg Cabot is best known for her books for younger readers, but her adult fiction is a total delight.”— Popsugar . I didn't know she wrote for younger readers, but I am not one little bit surprised to have found that out. 
I am not a fan of contemporary young adult romance so it is no surprise that although I thought this was good, I did not love it. Much of it was immature and silly. And there were some serious problems with it too. For example, she confronts the guy that assaulted her towards the end and although I am neither in favor or against guns I have to say the use of it here was wrong. Another example is how the author downplayed the dangers of a category 5 hurricane. Not cool. 

Anyway, although there were quite a few negatives, I won't go through them all. Why? because I still finished the book in one sitting. Drew and  Bree's interactions were funny and cute. 
If you are an animal lover this will likely make you smile too. The way Bree and Drew's entire family treats animals is rather sweet. 

That is it from me today. I really could write more on the negatives but because I actually read it so fast and smiled quite a bit through it I will leave it alone. If you enjoy reading contemporary young adult romance I am sure you will have less issues with it than I did. 

⚠ Content Warnings:  Dealing with trauma and abuse, use of guns, animal abuse.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation