Skip to main content

Clipped Wings & Inked Armor by Helena Hunting - 5/5 Stars and 3/5 Stars

Clipped Wings 5/5 by Helena Hunting was the perfect New Adult Romance novel. It had the passion and the drama you would expect from an NA book. 

We have Tenley, a lovely girl broken by the events of a year past. But not a little broken, she is shattered. I would be in her shoes too... Finding out what happened to her is devastating. 

Our boy is Hayden. He has the bad boy look, all tattoos and piercings. That being said, he is one of the sweetest NA males I have read in a while. He is also broken, the tragedies of his past follow him as well.

It is the mutual understanding they have of each others pain that makes their relationship unique and beautiful to read. 
Hayden is a tattoo artist and their relationship truly begins when Tenley decides to display her pain through ink. A massive tattoo in her back, on top of her old scars. Hayden has tattoos he chose for that same reason and he knows this won't fix her. Her pain is a year old, he has struggled with his for 7. But he understands that although this won't fix her, it might be what she needs at the moment. And since he is already very attracted to her at this point and not willing to let anyone else touch her, he agrees to the tattoo.

Their need for each other becomes stronger and stronger but neither is willing to talk about the past. It is their refusal to face the past that causes all the drama in the book. 

I was blown away by their story. It is intense, heavy, hurtful. 
Tenley is not your usual hurt girl in NA. She doesn't put up a fight. She doesn't push him away. Much the contrary, she lets him in. She doesn't tell him what happened to her, but it doesn't take long for her to realize he helps her inner demons. It sounds like she is selfish put it like that, but once you read the book and know her pain you will understand that she isn't.
Hayden is... well... I swoon! He is sweet, caring, and broken. He understands pain like no one else. He cares for her like no one else. 

The secondary characters are also super fun to read. From Hayden's aunt to his colleagues at the tattoo shop to Tenley's neighbor. They added a little extra to the story. I don't think the secondary characters got enough page time, but I won't takes points away for that 😉

3/5

Inked Armor was the continuation of Hayden and Tenley's story. The beginning was really good. I liked that the author did not keep our babies away from each other for long.

Clipped Wings focused more on Tenley's past, and Inked Armor focuses more on Hayden's. The problem is that both their pasts are marked by death, both suffer from nightmares, both struggle to talk about it... in other words, the books ended up very similar to each other and although I love Tenley and Hayden I couldn't help but feel rather bored half way through. In my personal opinion it would have been best to have the first book 100 pages longer and intercalate their past stories than to have a 356 pages book dedicated to telling them separate.  

Comments

  1. I have heard great things about this book. Might have to read it now

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.