Skip to main content

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes- 5/5

Hello sunnies 🌞

As most of you guys know, I am taking part of a blog tour showcasing The Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. My last two posts (skip the Sunday blogger guest post) have reviews for books one and two in the series, today we have book three, Gathering Darkness! We will soon also have a guest post from the author, she will tell us her inspiration for my bae- Magnus Damora!

I think this is my favorite book in the series so far, it definitely has some of my favorite quotes and things really do pick up here too.
All our now well known characters are in search of the kindred, and whoever gets it is set to take control over Mytica. 
Magnus needs to decide what is more important to him: pleasing his father or fighting for justice to all. Everyone he loves has turned their back on him, betrayed him, and he is one very hurt boy. 
New players have joined the hunt for the kindred, the Kraeshians Ashur and Amara. The second, Amara, has become one of my favorites 'evil' characters in recent YA fantasy.
Cleo and Jonas unite in the search for vengeance, freedom and power. 
Jonas does crack me up though. He is the sweetest and most useless rebel there is. I am not really sure how he is still alive. The boy has luck, a lot of it!
Cleo was and still is a very strong female character. She wants control over her destiny and her kingdom back. Her growth between books become very prominent here, she is now someone that could potentially take over Gaius. 
Lucia still as dangerous as before. Her power can destroy thoroughly and fully. 

A LOT happens in gathering darkness, but my favorite scenes are the interactions between Cleo and Magnus. It is here that all Magnus opposing attributes come clashing and it confuses Cleo to no end. Magnus is both selfless and selfish, angry and kind, loving and full of hatred, a friend and an enemy, a man to love, a man to run from...

“Her cerulean eyes widened. 

"You dream about me?"

His gaze snapped back to hers.

"Nightmares only” 


“But one thought was crystal clear. This princess, who looked at him tonight with hope rather than hate shining in her eyes . . . if he let her, she could destroy him.” 

“Magnus had come to a horrible realization. One that he knew would cause him nothing but pain and suffering from that day forward.
But there was no changing the truth of it.
He had fallen in love with her.” 

“You want to know why I did what I did?" His dark brows drew together as if he were only now allowing himself to consider this question. "Its fairly simple, actually. It's because, without your bravery in the face of all that's happened to you, without your constant scheming behind my back, without that fire of hatred and contempt and hope in your eyes when you look at me..." He hissed out a breath. "In the shadow my father has cast over my entire life, you are the only light I can see anymore. And, whatever the cost, I refuse to let that light be extinguished.” 


Here is the blurb for Gathering Darkness:
The painted bookish letter 'A' has the book cover for the
upcoming release Immortal Reign! 

In Gathering Darkness, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the fourth elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:
Prince Magnus has just witness torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he  must chose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred- the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, stories magic...
The Kraeshians joint the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps the King of Blood himself. The rebels forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia's overpowering magic- all so they can use the Kindred to winback their fallen kingdoms. The Watchers follow Melenia out of the sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia's powers to unveil the Kindred. The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica... but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.


AUTHOR BIO:
Morgan Rhodes is the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series and the Falling Kingdoms spin-off series, the Books of Spirits and Thieves. Under another pen name, she's an award winning author of more than two dozen novels. Morgan lives in Southern Ontario, where she's currently hard at work on the next Falling Kingdoms book.





This beauty comes out February 6. Can't wait!

And last but not least, here is the Blog Tour Schedule. Happy reading!
WEEK ONE (Book One: Falling Kingdoms and Two Book: Rebel Spring)
January 8 – Adventures of a Book Junkie – Interview
January 9 – [booklovingnut.com]The Book Nut – Review and Playlist
January 10 – Quirky and Peculiar – Review
January 11 – I Fangirl About Books – Creative Post
January 12 – Lovely Loveday – Author Guest Post
WEEK TWO (Book 3: Gathering Darkness)
January 15 – Glimpses of my Books – Cover Art and Author Guest Post - her inspiration for the character Magnus Damora
January 16 – Book Briefs – Book Review
January 17 – In Wonderland – Review
January 18 – Star-Crossed Book Blog – Review
WEEK THREE (Book 4: Frozen Tides)
January 22 – Ex Libris – Interview
January 23 – Ensconced in Lit – Review
January 24 – Step Into a Book World – Review
January 25 – Ria Reads – Review
WEEK FOUR (Crystal Storm)
January 29 – My Friends are Fiction – Author Guest Post
January 30 – Adventures through Wonderland – Review + Instagram
January 31 – A Thousand Books to Read – Interview
February 1 – A Page with a View – Review
February 2 – Never Too Many To Read – Book Spotlight and/or Review






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation