Skip to main content

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗
I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece!

Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be.

The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her pain, and she stays, she sleeps. His presence comforts her and a friendship she doesn't know she needs until she can't imagine herself without forms between the two.

Ryan is popular, a basketball star, a heartthrob. 
Tijan wrote an amazing male character for Hate to Love You and I thought then he would be forever my favorite... I guess I was wrong. I will forever love Shay Coleman but he now has to share my heart with Ryan.
Ryan wasn't expecting to find a girl in his bed, he was surprised. But he let her stay, he made her feel welcome. She didn't find out until later why he understood her pain, but he did. His pain was as real as hers. As touching as hers. As heartbreaking as hers. He just had a little longer than her to learn to leave with it...

The secondary characters, as per usual on Tijans books, are just as amazing, as real and easy to love. I know this is a stand alone, but I for one would not mind if one day she decided to write books for the other characters. 

I do not remember last time I cried this much for a book, specially since I so seldom do. I feel raw right now. Ryan's Bed deals with suicide, with depression, with high school drama... those can be heavy and difficult topics to get right and/or to write in a respectful way and Tijan succeeded  tremendously.  Suicide is not pretty, is not easy, and it does not end with the person who died. It affects the lives of everyone that loves them, it lingers, it lives long after that person dies. Tijan shows that, she does not romanticize it, she does not make it pretty. She makes it real. And in doing so, she takes us, the readers, into a journey with no return. You will feel Mac's pain in your bones.

The love story that evolves between Ryan and Mac is beautiful. Sure, there was attraction from the very beginning, but they were friends first. He was there for her first. And without knowing, she was there for him. This is a romance novel, with all the hot scenes Tijan writes so well, but it is so much more than that too.
I challenge you to not cry while reading this. 
I challenge you not to love this book.

GO READ. NOW.

The author: Tijan





Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.