Skip to main content

Unraveled (Whiskey Sharp #1) by Lauren Dane -3.5/5 Stars [arc review]

Hello Sunnies 🌞

This beautiful New Adult Romance comes out tomorrow, January 30th. Are you ready for it my romance readers?

Here is the Blurb:

Maybe Dolan has lived independent, free-spirited and unattached since leaving home at sixteen. Whiskey Sharp, Seattle's sexy vintage-styled barbershop and whiskey bar, gave her a job and a reason to put down roots. Cutting hair by day, losing herself drumming in a punk rock band by night, she's got it good.


But a longtime crush that turns into a hot, edgy night with brooding and bearded Alexsei Petrov makes it a hell of a lot better.

Maybe's blunt attitude and carnal smile hooked Alexsei from the start. Protecting people is part of his nature and Maybe is meant to be his even if she doesn't know it. Yet. He can't help himself from wanting to protect and care for her.

But Maybe's fiery independent spirit means pushing back when Alexsei goes too far. Still, he's not afraid to do a little pushing of his own to get what he wants her in his life, and his bed, for good. Maybe's more intoxicating than all the liquor on his shelf and he's not afraid to ride the blade's edge to bind her to him."


This was a sweet read. My favorite thing about it was how their relationship evolved over time, Maybe worked for Alexsei for two years before they ever started dating. There was friendship and respect between them before anything else. They are good for each other, she challenges him, he challenges her and they are both very caring people. 
Maybe lives with her sister and pretty much avoids her parents as much as she can, they are horrible people, at least to her. By the end of the book you will hate them, have no doubt. 
Alexsei's family is the opposite. They are loud, friendly, loving... they take their new neighbors (Maybe and her sister) into their fold and they quick become part of the family too. 

All in all it was a good romance novel, but there two downfalls for me: 
The first is that is was longer than it needed to be. As in, it got repetitive at times. Certain scenes happened so often it was a struggle not to roll my eyes. 
And the second issue I had with it is that it focuses too much on Maybe's sister, Rachel. I did my due diligence and I now know the next book focuses on Rachel, so I get the need to give her character some background, but it was just to much. Took away some of Maybe's and Alexsei's spot light. 


*Book Provided by the Publisher*
Written by: Lauren Dane
Series: Whiskey Sharp (Book 1)
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Find the Book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Itunes 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b