Skip to main content

Morgan Rhodes tells us her Inspiration for Magnus Damora in Falling Kingdoms!

Immortal Reign is out Feb 6th
It brings me GREAT joy to have my favorite writer gracing this blog with her presence. I am very happy to have her here with us!

For those who don't know (under what rock to you hide?!) Morgan Rhodes is the author of the Falling Kingdoms series and the spin-off series the Books of Spirits and Thieves. I adore both series!

In preparation for the last book in the Falling Kingdoms series, Immortal Reign (yes, I am heartbroken and might have to re-read this series at least once a year) I have been posting reviews of each of the books. If you scroll down the blog you will find reviews for books 1-3 last week and sometime next week I will post a review on book 4-5.  And then... then is release date for Immortal Reign (Feb 6th), I can't wait!

I am also taking part of a blog tour with Penguin, the stop over in my blog was on the 15th with Gathering Darkness and today you all get to learn with me Morgan Rhodes' inspiration for my all time favorite book male: Magnus Lukas Damora!
Are you all ready?! I sure am!
Without further ado:

Prince Magnus Lukas Damora is not only my favorite character in the Falling Kingdoms series to write, but he has also become, by far, the fan favorite. (Don’t tell the others, though. They’ll be jealous!)
What was the inspiration for Magnus? Well…that is a question that does not have an entirely easy answer. In the beginning, when I had yet to write a single word of Falling Kingdoms, I saw Magnus as a bit like Joffrey Baratheon (from Game of Thrones). The ruthless son and heir of a powerful king, one who would one day take the throne himself, much to the fear of those around him. Since I’d be working in his POV, I knew I wanted Magnus to have more of an arc toward becoming less of jerk. Eventually, anyway. But in book one, I was fully planning to go Full Jerk.
Once Magnus got on the page, however, he immediately decided to defy any plans I’d made for him. He wasn’t just a snob and a power-hungry royal. He was full of angst and doubt and pain—all of which he hid from everyone since he thought them signs of weakness. He was a boy raised by a cruel and abusive man and a cold, unloving mother. A boy with a scar on his cheek to remind him that there are penalties for stepping outside of the boundaries of his position as the King of Blood’s son.
Magnus was most definitely cruel and cold, but he was also kind, thoughtful, and—shockingly, for me—he had a really sharp sense of humor. These opposing traits helped create a character who came alive on the page and made every scene of his a pleasure to write.
Morgan Rhodes 

Falling Kingdoms Blog Tour 
Morgan Rhodes












More info on the blog tour:SCHEDULE for FALLING KINGDOMS

WEEK ONE (Book One: Falling Kingdoms and Two Book: Rebel Spring)
January 8 – Adventures of a Book Junkie<http://toofondofbooks.com> – Interview
January 9 – The Book Nut<booklovingnut.com> – Review and Playlist
January 10 – Quirky and Peculiar<https://quirkyandpeculiar.wordpress.com/> – Review
January 11 – I Fangirl About Books<http://ifangirlaboutbooks.tumblr.com> – Creative Post
January 12 – Lovely Loveday<https://lovelyloveday.com/> – Author Guest Post

WEEK TWO (Book 3: Gathering Darkness)
January 15 –Glimpses of my Books<http://glimpsesofmybooks.blogspot.com/>  – Review
January 16 – Book Briefs<http://bookbriefs.net> – Book Review
January 17 – In Wonderland<http://www.inwonderlandbookblog.com> – Review
January 18 – Star-Crossed Book Blog<http://starcrossedbookblog.com/> – Review
January 20- Glimpses of my Books<http://glimpsesofmybooks.blogspot.com/>Author Guest Post - her inspiration for the character Magnus Damora?
WEEK THREE (Book 4: Frozen Tides)
January 22 – Ex Libris<http://exlibriskate.com> – Interview
January 23 – Ensconced in Lit<http://cahreviews.blogspot.com> – Review
January 24 – Step Into a Book World<stepintoabookworld.wordpress.com> – Review
January 25 – Ria Reads – Review
WEEK FOUR (Crystal Storm)
January 29 – My Friends are Fiction<http://www.myfriendsarefiction.cm> – Author Guest Post
January 30 – Adventures through Wonderland<https://adventuresthruwonderland.blogspot.com/> – Review + Instagram
January 31 – A Thousand Books to Read<https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC13QSroIovhc9xEtfjPyVvw> – Interview
February 1 – A Page with a View<http://Www.apagewithaview.com> – Review
February 2 – Never Too Many To Read<http://www.never2many2read.blogspot.com> – Book Spotlight and/or Review

Falling Kingdoms GoodReads Amazon 

Comments

  1. Staying inspired, motivated and positively charged is very important whether you are a leader, a manager, an entry level employee, or even a student. Inspiration, motivation and positive thinking are essential for life, they are as vital as the air we breathe. Tonya Shirelle & Tonya Shirelle Keeping them at a high level is like fueling your gas tank in your car, if your tank is FULL, you can drive your car anywhere. Same thing with inspiration, motivation and positive attitude, if you have enough of them, you will be able to make your dreams come true.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation