Skip to main content

Blood Type by K.A. Linde- 5 stars [arc review]


My first book by K.A. Linde and there is no way it will be the last. I am HOOKED! As a fan of adult supernatural I am always in search of great plots (you know... they can be a bit too cheesy far too often) but this did not disappoint. I was intrigued from the very beginning. Yah, its a vampire story, but it is different and it will grab you and suck you in the whole way through.

The Blurb:

A startling new vision of paranormal romance: When a human ventures into the world of vampires—a decadent milieu of blood-bonds and betrayal—she discovers that not all is what it seems.


For Reyna Carpenter, giving up her body isn’t a choice. It’s survival.

In a civilization laid waste by poverty and desperation, Reyna accepts a high-paying position with the wealthy and hungry vampire elite. Her new job is as the live-in blood escort for the intimidating, demanding, and devilishly handsome Beckham Anderson. He’s everything she expected from a vampire, except for one thing—he won’t feed off her.

Reyna soon discovers that behind Beckham’s brooding, wicked faรงade lies a unique and complex man. And that, in a dark and divided world, she is more valuable than she ever would have believed.

For with each passing night, Reyna can’t shake the sensation that it’s Beckham who’s afraid of her.


OMG!!!! I would sell my soul for the next book. That cliffhanger is evil! I NEED to know what happens next.

Anyway... Now that that is out of the way I suppose we can talk about the book hey?
First of all, the plot is different. It is unexpected. It will keep you on your toes. And that is an art when writing on something (in this case vampires) that has been written a million times before. The mixture of main stream vampire lore and new exciting twists and turns made this an attractive read. And if you don't like supernatural all that much, still give it a go. It will be a good read for those who love 'rich guy gets the poor girl' romances too, you know... billionaire romances, or bad boy romances. Seriously, what is not to like?

I'm blabbing. That is not usually me. You will all forgive me right? ๐Ÿ˜‰
Carrying on...

The main characters were captivating. 
Reyna is determined. She knows what she wants and what she needs and she is going for it. She is trying her best to make the best of a bad situation. It is admirable. 
I can't say I liked her in the end. You can't tell someone you trust them and back down 5 minutes later. That is so shitty... but you will all have to read the book to find out what exactly she did... 

Now let's talk about hot-broody-moody-fabulous-sexy-amazing-caring-hard to read-strong-resilient (and I can keep on going) Beckham! LOVED him! Can I have one of him please? How do you bring a character to life? I need one of those magic tricks... If any of you figure out, please let me know! 
He was a hard character to read at first but as Reyna slowly but surely got under his skin we found out more and more about him. There were so many different layers to his personality. 

The romance was a highlight for me because there was almost none. I know I know... that makes no sense. Let me explain: as they got to know each other, discover what makes the other 'tick' so to say their attraction became more and more evident but it is not till towards the end that both of them admit the extend of their feelings. We can guess it, we can see it coming, but it is never overpowering. This is a supernatural book with just the right amount of romance.

All in all, a fantastic read.
Now... dear author, or publisher, or gods of the brokenhearted readers... GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK!!! 
Go Read Sunnies ๐ŸŒž



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION ๐Ÿ’— I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work ๐Ÿคฃ Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation