Skip to main content

Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young - 5+ Stars [arc review]

WOW!
I thought this would be ok, I did not think this would be amazing. In the end, it was not just amazing, it was heartbreakingly beautiful, powerful, moving, soulful, action packed, exciting... 
Sky in the Deep, Adrienne Young

I could go on for quite sometime. As far as YA goes, this is definitely going to be on my favorites for this year.
It was pure Viking  inspired magic with plenty of feels! I was captivated by this story from the first to last page and now that I am done with my kindle arc I cannot wait to re-read it in its physical format. 

The Blurb:
Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago.

Faced with her brother's betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbor is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered. But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family.

She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat. They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one. Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating.

Let's start with the battle scenes. They were intense. The author did not shy away from the reality of battle. They were slightly gruesome scenes, there was plenty of moments that kept me on the edge of my seat suffering from anxiety while my heart beat faster. And yet... it was all also somewhat poetic. Adrienne Young has a beautiful style of writing and I was captivated by it. 

Eelyn was a true bad-ass heroine. She and her ax can do some damage. She was not a heroine because she was a special snow flake with special powers like so many ya female characters out there. She was just Eelyn. And Eylyn has learnt to fight and has fought her whole life.

Fiske had me at hello 😃
He was very much like Eeylyn, a fighter and a survivor. Just sadly for them, one that fought for the enemy. Fiske was given a difficult choice, and through out he tried to make the best he could of the situation. 

The slow burning romance between the two main characters was perfectly written. Everything happened at the right time and for the right reasons. LOVED IT.

Another great thing were all the family dynamics. There was a great emphasis on family and friendships and it made the whole story even more appealing. 

Have I convinced you to go read it yet?
If you like action packed stories and a heavy dose of romance, you are bound to love this book! GO READ!

Release date: April 24, 2018
Find the Book at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
Audible
GoodReads
Adrienne Young site

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation