Skip to main content

The Kindness of Strangers by Julie Newman [arc review]


I have not read a mystery/thriller book since I was a teen (I won't tell you how along ago was that

🤣). The Kindness of Strangers was a nice change of pace!

The Blurb: 
Deception abounds in Julie Newman's breath-taking new novel. Widow Helen is desperate for a perfect family life, and will do everything she can to get what she wants. A veteran of the Afghanistan conflict Martin is adrift and seemingly without hope - can he ever win back his estranged family? Pregnant teenager Charley is striking out on her own to create a new life for her unborn child, but her mother Lizzie has other ideas. When three seemingly disparate lives connect, the past and the present collide to reveal secrets, lies and how far people are willing to go to hide the truth. Following the gripping and controversial Beware the Cuckoo, Julie Newman's thrilling new novel lifts the lid on the dark past that haunts a seemingly happy household.

When I started reading this book I forgot for good part of it that it was meant to be a thriller, the title doesn't give it away after all. So as the story progressed the book surprised me a lot. Specially the ending. I did not see that twist at the end. Be prepared to have your moral compass tested! 😊
At first, The kindness of Strangers appears to be three different stories and it is not obvious how they connect. As the lives of these three main characters starts to entangle the story becomes more and more interesting and less and less predictable (which is always a good thing).
I felt like Julie Newman took the title of this book and turned it onto its head.  The kindness of strangers which is usually seen as wonderful thing, although it is still a nice thing here, has unprecedented consequences. The consequences of kindness cannot always be predicted and will not always be positive... 

About the author: Julie Newman was born in East London but now lives a rural life in North Essex. She is married with two children. Her working life has seen her have a variety of jobs, including running her own publishing company. She is the author of the children's book Poppy and the Garden Monster. Julie writes endlessly and when not writing she is reading. Other interests include theatre, music and running. Besides her family, the only thing she loves more than books is Bruce Springsteen.

Release date: April 19, 2018
Find the Book: Amazon GoodReads

I received this e-book as part of  blog tour with Love Books Group! If you want to read more about the book have a look at the other blogs that highlighted it: 

Comments

  1. I have read good reviews on this one. I enjoyed reading your review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you like when you get to it! It was a good mystery/thriller. I personally did not see some things coming, which is always good on thrillers!

      Delete
  2. looks forwards to read the book

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation