Skip to main content

The Kindness of Strangers by Julie Newman [arc review]


I have not read a mystery/thriller book since I was a teen (I won't tell you how along ago was that

🤣). The Kindness of Strangers was a nice change of pace!

The Blurb: 
Deception abounds in Julie Newman's breath-taking new novel. Widow Helen is desperate for a perfect family life, and will do everything she can to get what she wants. A veteran of the Afghanistan conflict Martin is adrift and seemingly without hope - can he ever win back his estranged family? Pregnant teenager Charley is striking out on her own to create a new life for her unborn child, but her mother Lizzie has other ideas. When three seemingly disparate lives connect, the past and the present collide to reveal secrets, lies and how far people are willing to go to hide the truth. Following the gripping and controversial Beware the Cuckoo, Julie Newman's thrilling new novel lifts the lid on the dark past that haunts a seemingly happy household.

When I started reading this book I forgot for good part of it that it was meant to be a thriller, the title doesn't give it away after all. So as the story progressed the book surprised me a lot. Specially the ending. I did not see that twist at the end. Be prepared to have your moral compass tested! 😊
At first, The kindness of Strangers appears to be three different stories and it is not obvious how they connect. As the lives of these three main characters starts to entangle the story becomes more and more interesting and less and less predictable (which is always a good thing).
I felt like Julie Newman took the title of this book and turned it onto its head.  The kindness of strangers which is usually seen as wonderful thing, although it is still a nice thing here, has unprecedented consequences. The consequences of kindness cannot always be predicted and will not always be positive... 

About the author: Julie Newman was born in East London but now lives a rural life in North Essex. She is married with two children. Her working life has seen her have a variety of jobs, including running her own publishing company. She is the author of the children's book Poppy and the Garden Monster. Julie writes endlessly and when not writing she is reading. Other interests include theatre, music and running. Besides her family, the only thing she loves more than books is Bruce Springsteen.

Release date: April 19, 2018
Find the Book: Amazon GoodReads

I received this e-book as part of  blog tour with Love Books Group! If you want to read more about the book have a look at the other blogs that highlighted it: 

Comments

  1. I have read good reviews on this one. I enjoyed reading your review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you like when you get to it! It was a good mystery/thriller. I personally did not see some things coming, which is always good on thrillers!

      Delete
  2. looks forwards to read the book

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.