Skip to main content

Guest Author Q&A with Kylie Scott

Dive Bar Series

Hi Kylie!
It is such a pleasure to have you here on my blog! I finished the Stage Dive series not long ago and fell in love with your writing. And the Dive Bar series is turning out just as amazing!

Thank you very much!

-    When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always been fascinated with stories and carried around notebooks since I was little. About ten years ago I had the time on my hands to give writing a serious go. My first book was awful. So I went and took lessons, attended writing conferences, and worked with a mentor. Slowly, I got better.

-        When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?

My re-reads are “Sweet Dreams” by Kristen Ashley, “The Darkest Part of the Forest” by Holly Black, and “The Stand” by Stephen King. Mostly, I read romance, but I try to mix it up a bit to keep things fresh.

-         What other books do you have coming out this year that we should keep an eye on?

“Chaser” is out in April, “It Seems Like a Good Idea at the Time” in July, and “Strong” in September.


And for the fun of it…
-         If you were to give a soundtrack to the Dive Bar series can you think of a song or two that would be on it?

Actually, I have a whole bunch of playlists you can check out on my website: http://kyliescott.com/playlists/

-         Can you think of actors you would cast for the boys in the Dive Bar series?

I’m really not sure, sorry. I wrote Evelyn with Jennifer Lawrence in mind and Lena as Kat Dennings.

Thank you so much for taking part of this Q&A! I wish you all the luck in this world with this series and every other book you come to write. I am for sure a fan!
 
Dive Bar, Kylie Scott



Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.