Skip to main content

Dangerous Exes (Liars, Inc. #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

I have so many conflicting emotions right now...
I loved the first book in the Liars, Inc. series, Dirty Exes. So much so that I want to reread it right now. And because of that I had high expectations for Dangerous Exes. Did I like it? I think I did... but not all of it... there were great moments but overall it wasn't all that. 
Dangerous Exes, Rachel Van Dyken
Here is the Blurb:

Isla made one teeny little mistake. Now she and her PI company, Dirty Exes, are being targeted by one seriously angry and furiously sexy ex-quarterback. Jessie freakin’ Beckett. But there’s no way some NFL superhunk is going to take her business away. If only he didn’t make her so hot—and bothered.
Jessie wants payback for a ruined reputation. His plan? Top secret. His hard-to-hide arousal for Isla? Not so much. Especially when they let down their guards and sneak a kiss. Like any juicy scandal, it goes so viral, so fast, that only a good lie can combat the bad press. Mortal enemies in a fling? No way. Um…this is love!
Actually…could it be?
Isla’s not faking it. Jessie can’t. As the game of let’s pretend gets real, Jessie forgets all about revenge. That’s the problem. His plan is already out of his control. Now it could undo everything they’ve been trying to build. Coming clean may be the only thing that can save it.


2.5 Stars

The first 50 or so pages were eye roll worthy. Both main characters came across as childish and extremely stupid. For a moment there I was even considering to DFN the book. I am glad I didn't because it did get better but if I had not read Dirty Exes and/or this had been my first book by the fabulous Rachel Van Dyken I am afraid I would have.

The main problem with this book is Jessie. He is childish, irrational, and his need for revenge is misplaced. Until him and Isla start to get along a little better and his anger gets directed to the right person the book was unbearable. Once he realized his errors it got a lot better. It is his ex that deserves his anger and their plans to bring her down are simple but make a much better story. 
On my review for Dirty Exes I said Jessie was a character that needed to get his affairs in order and the same is true here. He is in this situation not just because of his exes actions but his too. Blaming Isla and her company just made him one very annoying character.

Isla was the same feisty and strong character we met in Dirty Exes. I love her bright personality!
I don't agree with all her actions, she got a little childish too. But her childish actions made me laugh and often came from a place of fear. She really liked him and it was never her intention to destroy him. She did what she got paid to do, she investigated him.

Isla's aunt though stole the show! I would happily read all her parts again. That woman was inappropriate, incorrigible and hilarious!

This book had great moments. Isla and Jessie did have a great chemistry. 

All in all not an amazing book. But I do strongly recommend you read Dirty Exes if you haven't yet. It was honestly one of my favorite romance books this year. Whatever I may think of this book it does not change the fact that Rachel Van Dyken is an amazing writer, this one just wasn't for me. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b