Skip to main content

Dangerous Exes (Liars, Inc. #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

I have so many conflicting emotions right now...
I loved the first book in the Liars, Inc. series, Dirty Exes. So much so that I want to reread it right now. And because of that I had high expectations for Dangerous Exes. Did I like it? I think I did... but not all of it... there were great moments but overall it wasn't all that. 
Dangerous Exes, Rachel Van Dyken
Here is the Blurb:

Isla made one teeny little mistake. Now she and her PI company, Dirty Exes, are being targeted by one seriously angry and furiously sexy ex-quarterback. Jessie freakin’ Beckett. But there’s no way some NFL superhunk is going to take her business away. If only he didn’t make her so hot—and bothered.
Jessie wants payback for a ruined reputation. His plan? Top secret. His hard-to-hide arousal for Isla? Not so much. Especially when they let down their guards and sneak a kiss. Like any juicy scandal, it goes so viral, so fast, that only a good lie can combat the bad press. Mortal enemies in a fling? No way. Um…this is love!
Actually…could it be?
Isla’s not faking it. Jessie can’t. As the game of let’s pretend gets real, Jessie forgets all about revenge. That’s the problem. His plan is already out of his control. Now it could undo everything they’ve been trying to build. Coming clean may be the only thing that can save it.


2.5 Stars

The first 50 or so pages were eye roll worthy. Both main characters came across as childish and extremely stupid. For a moment there I was even considering to DFN the book. I am glad I didn't because it did get better but if I had not read Dirty Exes and/or this had been my first book by the fabulous Rachel Van Dyken I am afraid I would have.

The main problem with this book is Jessie. He is childish, irrational, and his need for revenge is misplaced. Until him and Isla start to get along a little better and his anger gets directed to the right person the book was unbearable. Once he realized his errors it got a lot better. It is his ex that deserves his anger and their plans to bring her down are simple but make a much better story. 
On my review for Dirty Exes I said Jessie was a character that needed to get his affairs in order and the same is true here. He is in this situation not just because of his exes actions but his too. Blaming Isla and her company just made him one very annoying character.

Isla was the same feisty and strong character we met in Dirty Exes. I love her bright personality!
I don't agree with all her actions, she got a little childish too. But her childish actions made me laugh and often came from a place of fear. She really liked him and it was never her intention to destroy him. She did what she got paid to do, she investigated him.

Isla's aunt though stole the show! I would happily read all her parts again. That woman was inappropriate, incorrigible and hilarious!

This book had great moments. Isla and Jessie did have a great chemistry. 

All in all not an amazing book. But I do strongly recommend you read Dirty Exes if you haven't yet. It was honestly one of my favorite romance books this year. Whatever I may think of this book it does not change the fact that Rachel Van Dyken is an amazing writer, this one just wasn't for me. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.