Skip to main content

Tiger's Claim (Shifter Rogues #2) by Celia Kyle [arc review]

Another day another wonderful book provided by Read Forever! They just have the best stuff. And of-course, the PNR obsessed here thought this was FaBuLoUs!
Now I need to go and read the first book and every other PNR book Celia Kyle has ever written! 
The Blurb:
Tiger's Claim, Celia Kyle
Jaguar shifter Stella Moore has one thing on her mind - to take down the anti-shifter organization that destroyed her family. Her plans are going perfectly until a sexy-as-sin stranger throws off her game and decides the only way they can both avoid getting caught is to claim her as his girlfriend. Wait! What? Now she has to fly to a tropical island and play along because the alternative is...deadly.

Most people know Cole Turner as an uber-wealthy playboy - not as a tiger shifter who's part of a special ops team to protect his kind. Now his undercover mission has been compromised by a redheaded bombshell, and every animal instinct he has is screaming mate. To survive among so many enemies, they'll have to keep up their romantic act, find their intel... and absolutely not fall in love along the way.

The Review- 4.5 Stars

PNR always has been and always will be my weakness. But even more so are PNR books whose main characters are shape shifters. All time favorite trope right there! And Celia Kyle did an amazing job. 

I didn't know at the time (its the second time I do that in two months #facepalm) that this was the second book in  a series. This time however that wasn't a problem, the book can be easily read as a stand alone. 

Cole is a moody broody tiger shifter and member of SHOC, Shifters Operation Command. Him and his team are trying to take down Unified Humanity, a company that is against shifters. During his operation he catches a jaguar shifter trying to plant explosives at a Unified Humanity event. His only way to save her ass is to say she is his girlfriend. Stella is set on killing the man behind Unified Humanity, he is responsible for her family's demise and she will have her vengeance. 

There was definitely plenty of chemistry between the main characters and I liked the mixture of action,  adventure, and relationship development the book offered. Their strong personalities caused a lot of arguments between the two but it was sweet how they got together and apologized to each other.
The banter between Cole and his team mates was a nice touch, it added humour to a rather serious plot. The story needed that and it worked perfectly. 

The only reason it is not a 5 for me is that the story got interrupted a few times to focus on a another character and the person that will likely be his mate in the next book. I would have preferred if the book had focused more on Cole and Stella. We didn't learn a lot about him, there were glimpses of what his family is like and that was it. But, it was great book nonetheless, a solid 4.5/5! 

Release date: November 27th, 2018
Find the Book at: 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.