Skip to main content

Tiger's Claim (Shifter Rogues #2) by Celia Kyle [arc review]

Another day another wonderful book provided by Read Forever! They just have the best stuff. And of-course, the PNR obsessed here thought this was FaBuLoUs!
Now I need to go and read the first book and every other PNR book Celia Kyle has ever written! 
The Blurb:
Tiger's Claim, Celia Kyle
Jaguar shifter Stella Moore has one thing on her mind - to take down the anti-shifter organization that destroyed her family. Her plans are going perfectly until a sexy-as-sin stranger throws off her game and decides the only way they can both avoid getting caught is to claim her as his girlfriend. Wait! What? Now she has to fly to a tropical island and play along because the alternative is...deadly.

Most people know Cole Turner as an uber-wealthy playboy - not as a tiger shifter who's part of a special ops team to protect his kind. Now his undercover mission has been compromised by a redheaded bombshell, and every animal instinct he has is screaming mate. To survive among so many enemies, they'll have to keep up their romantic act, find their intel... and absolutely not fall in love along the way.

The Review- 4.5 Stars

PNR always has been and always will be my weakness. But even more so are PNR books whose main characters are shape shifters. All time favorite trope right there! And Celia Kyle did an amazing job. 

I didn't know at the time (its the second time I do that in two months #facepalm) that this was the second book in  a series. This time however that wasn't a problem, the book can be easily read as a stand alone. 

Cole is a moody broody tiger shifter and member of SHOC, Shifters Operation Command. Him and his team are trying to take down Unified Humanity, a company that is against shifters. During his operation he catches a jaguar shifter trying to plant explosives at a Unified Humanity event. His only way to save her ass is to say she is his girlfriend. Stella is set on killing the man behind Unified Humanity, he is responsible for her family's demise and she will have her vengeance. 

There was definitely plenty of chemistry between the main characters and I liked the mixture of action,  adventure, and relationship development the book offered. Their strong personalities caused a lot of arguments between the two but it was sweet how they got together and apologized to each other.
The banter between Cole and his team mates was a nice touch, it added humour to a rather serious plot. The story needed that and it worked perfectly. 

The only reason it is not a 5 for me is that the story got interrupted a few times to focus on a another character and the person that will likely be his mate in the next book. I would have preferred if the book had focused more on Cole and Stella. We didn't learn a lot about him, there were glimpses of what his family is like and that was it. But, it was great book nonetheless, a solid 4.5/5! 

Release date: November 27th, 2018
Find the Book at: 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b