Skip to main content

Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha #1) by Tasha Suri [ARC Review]

Empire Of Sand was a wonderful surprise. It reminded me of Renee Ahdieh and Rin Chupeco's writing styles. There is this almost poetic flow to it that I absolutely love. 
Tasha Suri's Empire of Sand managed to be richly descriptive while at the same time a fast paced story.
I cannot recommend this enough to all YA Fantasy lovers out there!

Empire of Sand, Tasha Suri
The Blurb:
The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

There were many wonderful things about this little book. The writing style, the plot, the romance... all of it worked together towards a flawless story. When the book was done there were so many parts I wanted to immediately reread so I could appreciate its beauty a tad more. It is a habit of mine to read to fast, and Empire of Sand deserved more of my time.

Mehr and Amun were the main characters in this tale, and I loved them both equally. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of the governor and of a Amrithi woman. The Amrithi people are detested by those of the empire. Her father loves her an her sister and shelters them as much as he can. But you know, things happen... (trying really hard not to give away the story here). When said things happen she ends up somewhere else with someone else - Amun - and needless to say, not necessarily by choice. Not Amun's choice either may I add... As they get to know each other -in not the best of environments- a friendship and eventually more grows between them. I loved their friendship and love story. I loved the background story, the daivas, the magic... all of it!  

I am curious to see what Tasha Suri will do in the second book. Mehr and Amun's story is not over but it does not need a continuation either. I genuinely enjoyed the open ending and don't really need all my questions to be answered. Will she write about Mehr's sister? will it focuses on Mehr's powers and what she is now bound to do? on the Empire? I want to know what is next. But at the same time, I am really happy with what I have!

Go Read!

Release Date: November 13, 2018



Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - Indigo - GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation