Skip to main content

Do You Feel It Too? by Nicola Rendell [arc review]

Any fans of Nicola Rendell here?
I really liked Shimmy Bang Sparkle so when I saw this on NetGalley I had to have it. Nicola Rendell has this ability to write absurd romance stories that you can't help but love. Or at least that is how I feel about them. While I read Do You Feel it Too? I rolled my eyes while at the same falling head over hills for the characters 💙
*Adult Content*
Do You Feel it Too? by Nicola Rendell
The blurb:
For urban-legend hunter and television host Gabe Powers, it’s business—investigate the most notorious haunted places in Savannah. Then he meets his new sound engineer, a dewy Georgia peach who may just turn this gig into (im)pure pleasure. All it takes is one night for them to conjure floor-rattling, wall-banging moans…but they’re not from the ghosts.

Blame the rippling abs, the cocky swagger, the granite jawline, the whole muscle-bulging package, but Gabe is bringing out good-girl Lily Jameson’s dirty side. Damn her code-of-conduct contract—this isn’t just a molten-hot fling.

There’s just one kink in the relationship they’ve been avoiding: soon they’ll be going their separate ways. Lily’s home is in Savannah, and Gabe is a globe-trotter at heart. For them to be together, they’ll both have to upend their so-very-different worlds and face their fears in the process. And suddenly things don’t feel so Georgia peachy keen at all.
 

The Review- 3 Stars

The story was sweet, fan, for the most part very light hearted, and with enough passionate moments to make you swoon. Gabe Powers was adorable. I expected him to be cocky and annoying since he is a TV star but he actually was super sweet. Lilly is in many ways the opposite of Gabe. Gabe traveled the world, Lilly has never left her little corner in Savannah. 
Their first encounter was funny, one disaster after the other. But that didn't stop the heat that built between them. 

The story fell a little short because of the insta-love. Most of the time I don't mind those but I know many of you will and at times even I felt uncomfortable with its pace here. That being said, the thing that was really a problem, and I think it will be to many readers was the sex scene. I will just copy and paste here part of another reviewer's opinion (Suzanne's Review on GoodReads) because she put it perfectly:
"...the first time the couple has sex, he's inside her and says 

"Are we going to screw around with condoms, or are you going to let me come inside you?"

Now, I went back through the first 30% of the book to check, and they had never discussed contraception or sexual health. This dude travels the world for his television show and has women throwing themselves at him all the time. She may be sexually chaste, but he's not. And they've never talked about it! Worse, the heroine doesn't tell him to F off, she just says "is it safe" and he makes a joke and there they go, having the sex. What if she had said no? "

I liked the story, but I have to agree with Suzanne that this scene was very poorly thought. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

  1. I read this too. Great review. Instagram: @livingmybestbooklife

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b