Skip to main content

Do You Feel It Too? by Nicola Rendell [arc review]

Any fans of Nicola Rendell here?
I really liked Shimmy Bang Sparkle so when I saw this on NetGalley I had to have it. Nicola Rendell has this ability to write absurd romance stories that you can't help but love. Or at least that is how I feel about them. While I read Do You Feel it Too? I rolled my eyes while at the same falling head over hills for the characters 💙
*Adult Content*
Do You Feel it Too? by Nicola Rendell
The blurb:
For urban-legend hunter and television host Gabe Powers, it’s business—investigate the most notorious haunted places in Savannah. Then he meets his new sound engineer, a dewy Georgia peach who may just turn this gig into (im)pure pleasure. All it takes is one night for them to conjure floor-rattling, wall-banging moans…but they’re not from the ghosts.

Blame the rippling abs, the cocky swagger, the granite jawline, the whole muscle-bulging package, but Gabe is bringing out good-girl Lily Jameson’s dirty side. Damn her code-of-conduct contract—this isn’t just a molten-hot fling.

There’s just one kink in the relationship they’ve been avoiding: soon they’ll be going their separate ways. Lily’s home is in Savannah, and Gabe is a globe-trotter at heart. For them to be together, they’ll both have to upend their so-very-different worlds and face their fears in the process. And suddenly things don’t feel so Georgia peachy keen at all.
 

The Review- 3 Stars

The story was sweet, fan, for the most part very light hearted, and with enough passionate moments to make you swoon. Gabe Powers was adorable. I expected him to be cocky and annoying since he is a TV star but he actually was super sweet. Lilly is in many ways the opposite of Gabe. Gabe traveled the world, Lilly has never left her little corner in Savannah. 
Their first encounter was funny, one disaster after the other. But that didn't stop the heat that built between them. 

The story fell a little short because of the insta-love. Most of the time I don't mind those but I know many of you will and at times even I felt uncomfortable with its pace here. That being said, the thing that was really a problem, and I think it will be to many readers was the sex scene. I will just copy and paste here part of another reviewer's opinion (Suzanne's Review on GoodReads) because she put it perfectly:
"...the first time the couple has sex, he's inside her and says 

"Are we going to screw around with condoms, or are you going to let me come inside you?"

Now, I went back through the first 30% of the book to check, and they had never discussed contraception or sexual health. This dude travels the world for his television show and has women throwing themselves at him all the time. She may be sexually chaste, but he's not. And they've never talked about it! Worse, the heroine doesn't tell him to F off, she just says "is it safe" and he makes a joke and there they go, having the sex. What if she had said no? "

I liked the story, but I have to agree with Suzanne that this scene was very poorly thought. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

  1. I read this too. Great review. Instagram: @livingmybestbooklife

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.