Skip to main content

The Bastard's Bargain (The O'Malleys #6) by Katee Robert [arc review]

I have two weaknesses when it comes to romance books: pnr and mafia romance. So obviously I was very excited when I got this and could not wait to read it. Thank you Forever Romance for my copy!
The blurb:
The Bastard's Bargain, Katee Robert
When Keira O’Malley was a child, she used to picture her perfect wedding. The flowers. The dress. Her husband. But nothing could have prepared her for saying “I do” to Dmitri Romanov—cold, domineering and always one step ahead of everyone else in the ever-shifting power plays of New York City. She agreed to his bargain to secure peace for her family, and she may want the bastard more than she’d ever admit, but she’ll be damned if she’ll make this marriage easy for him.

Dmitri knows better than to underestimate Keira for one second. Molten desire smolders between them, a dangerous addiction neither can resist. But his enemies are already on the move, and he needs every ounce of his legendary focus and control to keep them alive. Keira could just be his secret weapon—if she doesn’t bring him to his knees first.

The Review:
Let me start by saying I made a grave mistake... I started reading the book without checking if it was the first book in a series or not. To do that with mafia romances is not clever, there is a usually a whole background story with enemy families, blood feud, etc that gives context to the plot. I noticed that was the case here when I was about 30% in and a little confused with all the names being thrown around. I really enjoyed the book but I don't feel like I have the whole picture even after I finished reading it, this will definitely be a reread for me someday -because I will be reading the series! 

With that in mind... the plot was awesome! All you could expect from a Mafia Romance. Katee Robert did a great job at juggling different family dynamics, the politics of it all and the constant fight for dominance. I just wished I knew the background story to all of them, I was often lost. As good as the plot was I don't recommend you read it as a stand alone. I am very much looking forward to reading the other 5 books and being lost into that world properly.

Or main characters were Keira and Dmitri. 
Dmitri was outstanding. It was pretty obvious from start that he had strong feelings for Keira and wanted her to be well. He did all he could to help her get to a healthy place in life again. Keira may not know it but Dmitri didn't force the marriage on her so he could have a play thing. He remembers her as a feisty strong woman and not the broken thing she is now and that is what he wants. He wants that strong woman by his side, his equal. 
Keira is broken. And here is another part of the book I wish I understood better. There is a background story here, one where her brother dies because of the family business. It is obvious her brother was very important to her, the one that gave her hope for something outside the family business. She used to paint and dream. Now she drinks, uses drugs, and is a skeleton or her former self. She annoyed me to start, but that is byproduct of the alcohol and drugs, Katee wrote her well. 
Dmitri forces her to get clean and sober and so their story unfolds... she thinks he is nothing but a bargaining chip for him and he does all he can to bring her out of her shell again. Their story was great and I can't wait to read their previous interactions in the other books and have a fuller picture of them as a couple.

All in all great book, just not one that should be read as a stand alone. 
I would like to say I learn my lesson but I am sure I will make that mistake again someday... hehe

Go Read Sunnies! 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b