Skip to main content

The Bastard's Bargain (The O'Malleys #6) by Katee Robert [arc review]

I have two weaknesses when it comes to romance books: pnr and mafia romance. So obviously I was very excited when I got this and could not wait to read it. Thank you Forever Romance for my copy!
The blurb:
The Bastard's Bargain, Katee Robert
When Keira O’Malley was a child, she used to picture her perfect wedding. The flowers. The dress. Her husband. But nothing could have prepared her for saying “I do” to Dmitri Romanov—cold, domineering and always one step ahead of everyone else in the ever-shifting power plays of New York City. She agreed to his bargain to secure peace for her family, and she may want the bastard more than she’d ever admit, but she’ll be damned if she’ll make this marriage easy for him.

Dmitri knows better than to underestimate Keira for one second. Molten desire smolders between them, a dangerous addiction neither can resist. But his enemies are already on the move, and he needs every ounce of his legendary focus and control to keep them alive. Keira could just be his secret weapon—if she doesn’t bring him to his knees first.

The Review:
Let me start by saying I made a grave mistake... I started reading the book without checking if it was the first book in a series or not. To do that with mafia romances is not clever, there is a usually a whole background story with enemy families, blood feud, etc that gives context to the plot. I noticed that was the case here when I was about 30% in and a little confused with all the names being thrown around. I really enjoyed the book but I don't feel like I have the whole picture even after I finished reading it, this will definitely be a reread for me someday -because I will be reading the series! 

With that in mind... the plot was awesome! All you could expect from a Mafia Romance. Katee Robert did a great job at juggling different family dynamics, the politics of it all and the constant fight for dominance. I just wished I knew the background story to all of them, I was often lost. As good as the plot was I don't recommend you read it as a stand alone. I am very much looking forward to reading the other 5 books and being lost into that world properly.

Or main characters were Keira and Dmitri. 
Dmitri was outstanding. It was pretty obvious from start that he had strong feelings for Keira and wanted her to be well. He did all he could to help her get to a healthy place in life again. Keira may not know it but Dmitri didn't force the marriage on her so he could have a play thing. He remembers her as a feisty strong woman and not the broken thing she is now and that is what he wants. He wants that strong woman by his side, his equal. 
Keira is broken. And here is another part of the book I wish I understood better. There is a background story here, one where her brother dies because of the family business. It is obvious her brother was very important to her, the one that gave her hope for something outside the family business. She used to paint and dream. Now she drinks, uses drugs, and is a skeleton or her former self. She annoyed me to start, but that is byproduct of the alcohol and drugs, Katee wrote her well. 
Dmitri forces her to get clean and sober and so their story unfolds... she thinks he is nothing but a bargaining chip for him and he does all he can to bring her out of her shell again. Their story was great and I can't wait to read their previous interactions in the other books and have a fuller picture of them as a couple.

All in all great book, just not one that should be read as a stand alone. 
I would like to say I learn my lesson but I am sure I will make that mistake again someday... hehe

Go Read Sunnies! 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.