Skip to main content

Baking Lessons by Katie Allen - 4 Stars [arc review]

Baking Lessons by Katie Allen
The pastry chef in me (done that for 12 years) and the romance lover in me are in awe! This was a
sweet read in every way.

Leah is a lovely chatty and fun character, someone I would not mind have as a friend in real life 🙂
She loves her bakery and gets immense satisfaction from feeding people. Her landlord however is uptight and difficult to deal with. She makes it her mission to annoy me him till his eyes twitch. It helps he is obsessed with her sweets.

Hamilton, the landlord in question, is uptight and he knows it. He is rigid and keeps to himself. Leah's messiness unnerves him, heck, her whole being unnerves him! Underneath all that though he has a heart of gold. When Leah needs most he is always there to help her. And when she is threatened by an unwanted admirer, he intervenes.
And with that, Hamilton becomes part of her life and her of his. 

These two are adorable together. The friendship and relationship they built in her shop was a treat to my ears! 😉 They complimented each other in every way. He made her a little more careful and responsible and she thought him how to let loose a little. 

I didn't know going in this book was part of a series, I guess now I have to go and get the first book!

The only reason for it not being 5 stars for me is that the 'sexy' scenes were not all my kind of thing. There is a scene towards the end with frosting that really was not for me... you will know which one when you get to it. This is a matter of personal preference though, takes nothing away from the amazing story Katie Ruggle (Katie Allen) created. 

*This book was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
-Release date: 12 March 2018-

Find the Author and Book at:
GoodReads
Amazon
Carina Press
Nook
iTunes
Author's website

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation