Skip to main content

Guest Author Q&A with Jessie Donovan- Queen of Supernatural Romance!

Hello Sunnies 🌞
And Happy Saturday! 
As most of you know I have three book genre passions: YA fantasy, New Adult Romance, and Supernatural Romance! Today I bring you one of my all time favorite Supernatural Romance writers: Jessie Donovan! 
Her Stonefire Dragon series alone has already 11 books and I am very proud to say I read every single one of them in one sitting. If you haven't checked her out yet you don't know what you are missing.

Q&A with Jessie Donovan
Stonefire Dragons Book covers by Jessie Donovan
Hello Jessie!
I am thrilled to have you on my blog! I discovered the Stonefire Dragons series last year by accident and have not been able to stop reading them. I am proud to say I have read all 10 of them and all 4 Lochguard Highland Dragons too. They are sooooo good! One day I shall get to your other series too.

When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?
I’ve been writing stories since I was a kid. My first serious go at it was with “Story Wars” in junior high school. My best friend and I would come up with 5-10 words that we had to put in a story. A week later, we’d exchange and read. It was a lot more fun than creative writing because I don’t like to write literary stories, and that’s what they always wanted! It took some fanfic writing and writing an entire book that will never see the light of day before I published my first book.

When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?
I read mostly romance (paranormal, historical, science fiction) and historical non-fiction. (I want to write either historical mysteries or historical romances some day, too.) Authors I love include Sarah MacLean, Tessa Dare, Kresley Cole, and Nalini Singh. As long as it’s not contemporary romance, I’ll snatch up any book by those authors as soon as possible!

What inspired you to write stories about dragon shifters?
I’ve always loved dragons since I’m an Anne McCaffrey fan. One day I realized that while there were a lot of shapeshifter romances, there weren’t many about dragons. I tried writing it as a science fiction romance first, but it just wasn’t working. I started researching various myths about dragons and came across something that mentioned a certain culture believed dragon’s blood to have healing properties. That was my lightbulb moment and Sacrificed to the Dragon was done in less than two months after that. I wrote Sacrificed the way I did with a long epilogue because if it didn’t do well, I would’ve scrapped the series. However, it seemed others were hungry for dragons like me. And before long, everyone started writing dragons…

Do you have a favorite couple in either the Stonefire or Lochguard series? Little secret- mine will forever be Tristan and Melanie (although I confess Finlay and Ara almost took the spot, Finn is just too funny)
A lot of people tell me that they love Tristan and Melanie or Finn and Arabella the best. But I’ll admit I have a soft spot for Sid and Gregor, after what they both went through. And the MacKenzies on Lochguard are lots of fun to write! I’m looking forward to writing about Max, the archaeologist that you met in the Lochguard series, too.

Oh... that's exciting! Max was a hoot!  

Since this particular reader is all about your dragon shifters (and will bully everyone into reading it) can you tell us a little about your other series? The Kelderan Runic Warriors?
It’s a science fiction romance that tends to draw in readers and make them forget it’s about aliens, lol. I have my usual strong women (not always physically strong, either) and stubborn males. The first book starts off with a human colony that has a shortage of men and their only way to survive is to trick ships to their planet with distress calls. Then they pretend to be in trouble and capture them. However, the latest ship needs a colony and is led by General Prince Kason. Since he comes from a society that primarily views women as child bearers, the sparks fly between him and the woman leader of the colony planet. Little did they know that their interactions would end up setting off a chain of events on both worlds…I love writing this series because I get to do a lot more world-building than with any of my others. It also helps keep my love for the dragon series alive because writing one series only, day in and day out, would kill my creativity!

What other books do you have coming out this year that we should keep an eye on?
The next Stonefire Dragons book, Craved by the Dragon, is out March 22, 2018. (Except for the audio format, which will be out in late summer.)  I also have Finn and Arabella’s follow-up novella releasing in May, and the new Lochguard book, The Dragon’s Discovery, out in September. There will also be two more releases in my Kelderan Runic Warriors series. I write a lot of books. J

And for the fun of it…
-        If you were to give a soundtrack to the Stonefire series, what 2-3 songs would be on it?
I don’t know…I write in complete silence and music prevents my characters from talking to me. Besides, each set of characters has such a different tone that each book will probably need its own soundtrack. Sorry, but figuring it out for fifteen books is too much for me, lol.

haha! that's more than fair.

-      Can you think of three actors you would cast as dragon-man if your books ever became a show and you had freedom to choose whomever you wanted to play them!?
My readers have had a lot of suggestions in my fan group over the years, but as for me? Hmm…maybe Gerard Butler for one of the Scottish Dragons, Alex O’Loughlin, and maybe Chris Pratt.

Oh man... those are all amazing choices! 

Lochguard Highland Dragons
Thank you so much for doing this short Q&A with Glimpses Of My Books!

Thanks for having me. <3


You can find Jessie Donovan and her books at:

Comments

  1. Love paranormal romance. Will give this a try

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.