Skip to main content

Play (Stage Dive #2) by Kylie Scott - 4/5 stars


This was interesting. I wasn't sure when it started, but half-way through I was teary eyed.

GOSH! Mal Mal Mal Mal... you have my heart!

Book Blurb:

Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn't plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn't count on finding the one right girl. 

Anne Rollins never thought she'd ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn't end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?


Another great book by Kylie Scott. Mal and Dave's story certainly lived up to David and Eve's (Stage Dive #1).

To start I struggled a little. Mal made a joke out of everything, than proceeded to move in with Anne without telling her about it and make more jokes. He needed a fake girlfriend and he just assumed she would say yes. 
“Yes, pumpkin,” said Mal, his face deadly serious. “I am moving in with you.”
I cringed at the horrid nickname but chose to focus on the real concern for now. “When did we talk about this exactly?”
“Actually, you might have left by then. But it doesn’t change the facts.”
What now?! 
And Anne of-course easily agrees falling for his charms in... 5 seconds! 
So... that was hard for me to swallow. 

BUT----> IT GETS SO MUCH BETTER
We know from Lick that Mal is loud and always making jokes, but we also know he is a good guy. Eventually we start to see more of what he is trying to hide and come to understand what is going on with him, why he is acting the way he is. And gosh if all that didn't break my heart. 
Anne knew from the beginning something was up but also knew better than to try to get it out of him. He wasn't going to tell anyone until he was ready. In that sense she was clever and mature. 
But Anne's character was also hilarious and worthy of many eye rolls. She is a huge Stage Dive fan and always had a massive crush on our drummer Mal, so needless to say he pretty much had her wrapped around his fingers... I gotta confess that if many of my book boyfriends every came to life I wouldn't be that different from Anne... so I suppose I can't judge her! 🤣🤣🤣 LOL 

Mal and Anne together were marvelous (once I got over Mal's silliness anyway). They had me laughing the whole book and were exactly what each other needed, they fit. 

He spun on his heel to face me, arms out wide. “Life’s a song, Anne. Let’s play.”

But you know what my favorite thing was? David Ferris was there! A lot!!!! 
Usually on series where books can be read on their own the previous characters have a very small role to play in the following book, that wasn't the case here. David was there for Mal every step of the way. 

I pulled out my phone then hesitated. Ev had pissed me off, holding me up, but these people were also his family. They deserved to know he was still in one piece. 

Anne: He’s at the practice hall
Ev: Thank you 

David Ferris strode in not fifteen minutes later. He nodded to me, then picked up a guitar and plugged it in. As the first strains of noise rang out Mal opened one eye and saw David standing opposite him. Nothing was said. Time moved by, both sluggish and swift at once. The two of them played for hours. 
All in all I loved it and I cannot wait to read the books on the other band members! 

Play was released 2014.
Find the Author and Book at:
Amazon
GoodReads
Nook- B&N
Kobo
iTunes
Kylie Scott

Comments

  1. I love all Kylie Scott's books. Glad to see you are enjoying them too

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation