Skip to main content

#prettyboymustdie by Kimberly Reid- 1.5 Stars [arc review]

This book hurts my intellect! 
I almost didn't finish reading it, it took a lot of mental pep-talk.
The blurb for this book is great, I was very much looking forward to it, it sounded fun... it disappointed in every possible way. Here is the blurb for you all: 


A CIA prodigy's cover is blown when he accidentally becomes an internet sensation in #Prettyboy Must Die, inspired by the #Alexfromtarget story.



When Peter Smith's classmate snaps a picture of him during a late night run at the track, Peter thinks he might be in trouble. When she posts that photo--along with the caption, "See the Pretty Boy Run,"--Peter knows he's in trouble. But when hostiles drop through the ceiling of his 6th period Chem Class, Peter's pretty sure his trouble just became a national emergency.

Because he's not really Peter Smith. He's Jake Morrow, former foster-kid turned CIA operative. After a massive screw-up on his first mission, he's on a pity assignment, a dozen hit lists and now, social media, apparently. As #Prettyboy, of all freaking things.

His cover's blown, his school's under siege, and if he screws up now, #Prettyboy will become #Deadboy faster than you can say, 'fifteen minutes of fame.' Trapped in a high school with rabid killers and rabid fans, he'll need all his training and then some to save his job, his school and, oh yeah, his life. 


So... first of all, the story isn't fun. It was insubstantial, flimsy, and lacked any sort of depth. It is borderline ridiculous because of how unrealistic it is too. Now, both those things would have been okay if the book had succeeded at being funny, whimsical books are not known for being realistic or in depth. It would also have been okay had it succeeded at being a good spy book, those also aren't known for being realistic. But it failed on both counts. It was ridiculous instead of funny and witless/foolish instead of a clever spy book.

That being said it is possible that such a mindless story will strike a cord with middle graders. As a librarian though, I wouldn't want my kiddos to read something so unimaginative.

And now we go to an issue I know many will have with the book too: the book was oozing with condescending, patronizing and sexist remarks. As in, a pretty girl cannot be a spy because...well... she is nice and pretty. And one I had to laugh not to cry in anger, a girl with long nails cannot be a hacker! Seriously? The main character was full of those stupid foregone conclusions and a lot of them were just rude. 
I don't usually have problems with things like that in books, I am more forgiving towards books that lack political correctness than most reviewers out there, and still, even I found this very very wrong. That in my books says a lot. 

The 1.5 star is for the blurb and the idea behind the book. From that blurb a great teen spy book could have been written. It is also for the character Bunker, Jake's friend at school and the only character that did not suck! 

Sorry TorTeen! I wanted to love, I just can't....

Expected Publication: February 13th
Publisher: TorTeen
Find the book: GoodReads - Amazon - Macmillan - Nook: B&N - The Author


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation