Skip to main content

Chasing Eva by Camellia Hart - 3.5 Stars

This was a pleasantly surprising read. I have never read anything by this author and I really enjoy this story. It was fun, sweet, and had a good dosage of suspense to it too. I was disappointed when it ended because I wanted to know more. So needless to say, I will be reading the next book.

So... the story is mainly about Eva and Clive. 
Eva's father died and left her his interior design business. Even though she finished culinary school and has made a name for herself in the industry, she takes over the company to honor her father's wishes. What she doesn't know is that her father had contacted the FBI and her company is being investigated for fraud. 
Clive owns the company next door and the book pretty much begins with Eva receiving a dismissal letter from them. 
The attraction between Clive and Eva is instant, specially when he realizes he knows her from his childhood... but I won't tell you guys more not to spoil the story for you.

I liked both characters, they were both likable and portrayed in a mature way. The story was easy to read, fast paced, entertaining. The secondary characters were also fun to read and likable.
And that is just it really. It was a fun read with a good added suspense factor, there wasn't a great amount of depth to it, it is not a story I will still remember in two years time... all in all, a great late night read!

*This ebook was provided for NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Find this book: GoodReads - Amazon - Author's site - Nook 
Published: Aug 2016
Genre: New Adult Romance

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation